You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Hinterglas?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

The process is fascinating. Somewhere in my pencil box I have a graphite pencil designed to write on glass. Reading this now, I searched if I can can find one again: http://www.artstuff.net/Stabilo-All-Surface-Pencils_p_754.html - I will have to check if my local art supply store carries them. As for painting: I wasn't doing much on glass, other than some abstract designs, but I used extensively thin acrylic paint on plastic or mylar (Dupont) sheets in a fashion like Max Ernst's decalcomania (building it up on the back with transparencies of pastel and white colors), which I then often transferred onto canvas by simply adhering it with acrylic medium, and when bone dry, wet the canvas with water, let saturate and then just peel the plastic away. The plastic sheets are a bit tricky because the surface is such that the acrylic paint will bead. I wash the plastic with soap and afterward give it a light coat of fixative. There are supposed to be some transparent sheets available at Blick Art Supply especially made to draw and paint on (basically the type of cells once used for cartoon films) , but I have not tried them yet. That way I could also get Rohrschach-type images, that once transferred onto canvas or wood panel would make people wonder how it was done.
You can see the application of it over top of the owl scull in this detail of a painting I am working on:
P1120112web.jpg

Sort:  

Hahahaha... not laughing at you though. You know what's so funny? When I saw the post, with no clue of who the username was, I thought... this looks like a painting of Otto. This bastard here better added the credits... just to find out a moment later, that it is YOU!

Glad to see you here and thank you for this awesome comment. On my way to your page!

haha, you should have recognized my mug, lol. I have no idea how I got to that handle, it just happened in the sign-up process. Maybe I did something wrong - I would have wanted "The Mystic", which is my handle everywhere else.
If it wasn't for your urging to join, I might have given up - it took 2 days and several tries to get on here. Still trying to wrap my head around things hows they work. Leo just gave me some good advice.

Glad you made it and you will see, that its rewarding in many ways. I truly enjoy the conversations being much better than anywhere else. Getting on board seems a bit awkward... they made me wait long enough that I thought my signup fell through he cracks somewhere. Must have something to do with that blockchain thingy (beyond my Verstand)

Yes, @leoplaw has once again proven to be a real friend. He has helped me tremendously with his valuable advice and guidance.

Also spent countless hours on how tos and what not to dos... here is a good starting point, in case you haven't found it already httpwww.steemithelp.net

My voting power is next to worthless right now, got less "allocated steam" this morning on top of it... haven't figured out yet, why and what it means. I'll upvote you, once its worth it!

I am still learning the ropes. But I like the platform for the same reasons you do. So my sign-on struggles are not unique, lol. But now I am glad I am here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84