You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🚪 Arrived at last - Final Destination in the Temple of the Secrets?

in #art6 years ago

My card is the Moon. (been howling at it ever since I can remember).
About basic colors: yes, of course - my palette is limited to those. Strange how some seem to think they need 144 color set in order to paint. I do save the colors I mixed in those small film canisters that came with analog film.
upvoted, resteemed and shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1000976904730632192

Sort:  

I always liked the idea of starting with the basic colors although I admit, I have a few more by now. Particularly with oils, where transparency of pigments comes into play, having a nice selection can be helpful. Interestingly enough, it has been found out, that using magenta and cyan will lead to better results not only in printing, but also traditional painting...

of course - sticking to basic I learned as a offset printer working in Sweden. Amazing what you can get with just 3 colors, black and the white of the paper. I printed centerfolds - we usually spent a good day setting up the press, adjusting colors. Best part was that the photographers came in with the models to check the proofs, lol .... magenta and cyan are the purest colors.
But yes, I do have a few more in my arsenal now also, but my mainstay are the colors I already mixed and saved in those film canisters. Though acrylics dry out quick, the saved ones stay soft and pliable surprisingly long. A few of them I had for a couple of years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65