My Artwork Can Now Be Seen on a Real Book, Written by Our Very Own @dreemit, Published in 2018: 'Reborn'

in #art6 years ago

Here's something exciting. Remember that book cover that I was working on last year for @dreemit? It has become the art for a real book, available now on Amazon!

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=linnet+mclaughlin

I was, and still am, incredibly thrilled to have the opportunity to create the image for the cover of dreemit's book, but I had no idea how amazing it would actually look in the end.

It started with a pencil sketch on illustration board, and I began painting and taking photos of the process with my old iPhone last year, in 2017:

photo (1).jpg

I did the acting and modeling for all of these characters here...

photo (3).JPG

I had my daughter pose for the female character on the cover-- here is the painting when it was nearing completion:

photo (2).jpg

The Final Touches by @son-of-satire

My initial idea was to design the cover to feel like an old pirate story from another age, and I used muted colors for a 'faded' appearance. Dreemit was wise enough to send my painting to @son-of-satire, who not only designed the layout for the title and author's name, but he also modernized the colors on the image, so that it took on a new life that I never could have imagined.

IMG_0181.jpg

@dreemit's book, 'Reborn- The Allies of Old'

Also, note how @son-of-satire reversed the image, so that the stone wall in the painting became part of the book's spine, a brilliant edit, which I also never would have thought of.

Congratulations to @dreemit for this accomplishment, getting a book published and printed into this beautiful package.

I'm very proud to have been a part of @dreemit's dream, and to be included in the credits for this great book, and I am honored to be friends with her. Let's help her to sell lots of these books, and help make her ultra-rich and mega-famous, whether she likes it or not. ;)

The link to order the book on Amazon is HERE, and resteeming this post might help to spread the sensation around the internet properly.

Thanks to @son-of-satire for making my painting really pop for the book cover, and I give my infinite thanks to @dreemit for choosing me to do the art for her masterpiece story, Reborn.


images above are mine, 2017 and 2018, showing the process for one of the most exciting art projects I've ever done. Thanks to all who ordered a copy of @dreemit's book, and those who have supported her work here on Steemit-- she deserves all of it!
Screen Shot 2018-07-27 at 12.33.06 PM.png

Click @therealpaul for more!

Sort:  

I was so excited when you sent me the email outlining your idea for the cover, the exact scene I had always imagined when I pictured it, and even more excited when you began sending me photos of the progression- and it came out absolutely perfect!

I've said it before, but I'll say it again- can't wait to start working on our next project! So much love for you my friend!

I still have all of the little studies and sample paintings that I did for this, someday they'll be interesting to see for fans of the series, I would think.

Oh I absolutely look forward to the next one, to the point where I'm almost starting to get little glimpses of it! ;)

Man, I'm so proud that your legacy is going to exist in the physical world as well! Ever since I saw that, I just know it was going to stick. It was such an awesome piece, Paul!

Thanks Jedau, I know, holding the book with the image shrunken as I'd imagined it is just surreal. I've always been fascinated with smaller copies of my art, for some reason. And filters, I like nearly every filter on Photoshop or any photo-editing app, I love what the computer thinks of my work every time. I want to make a copy of every sample. I'm glad to hear that you liked it, the style sort of nods towards a graphic comic look, which sos modernized masterfully for the book cover.

WOW! You did a magnificent job @therealpaul, taking a pivotal scene from a book created by another's artistic mind and then making...your own art. But, not just any art...you captured her mindseye completely. That is something beyond art, it's something like magic. I am led to believe that is what you really are, what you must be...a magician. And, @son-of-satire, wow. He has proven to be a designer extraordinaire. What a team the three of you make! I can't wait to see what the future brings...

Thank you, I feel honored to have tuned in to such a creative force as our dreemit. I'm certain that we are all magi, or I would at least imagine that we all must be potent picture-makers to have made this world-- my trick is to illustrate that imagined world before it is manifested, to animate the imagined. Can't wait for the next one!

Very nice. You are blessed to have your artistry showcased in such a way. Best wishees @therealpaul

I do feel blessed, thanks for the compliment!

You draw very well! People like to buy and read books with drawings. Good luck!

I appreciate that, thanks for looking in!

@therealpaul nice and congratulation

Your artwork is amazing, you did such a beautiful job for Dreemit's cover!!! I can't wait to have a physical copy on my shelf :D

Thank you! I'm honored to have my art included in this work of passion.

I have story for each of my books. It'll will be so fun to say "and this one was created this way by awesome people on Steemit."

I admit to really looking forward to you reading it! And now I'm intrigued, do you have books written? Because I would love to read them :)

Nooooo my book collection :D

I read some of your book here on steemit and I LOVED what I saw, I just have a really difficult time reading on devices, my sister has had the most recent books of one of my all time favorite series on her tablet for months now and I've gotten through three pages... but now your book has pages :D I'm so excited!!!! I'm ordering it with the first paycheck I get after my daughters birthday is done with, I'll let you know when I get it and when I've finished it (most likely the next day haha)!

I loved the original picture, and thought @son-of-satire did an amazing job of the cover. Well done, you three!

I really like how he enhanced the feel of the scene with just a few strong colors, it was an expertly done cover when he was finished!

Congratulations! The picture is powerful, the guy is powerful.

That's a great news wonderful work from everyone :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49