Hand-Crafted Lamps and Shades That I Made

in #art7 years ago

I have a lot of lamps around here.

There have been times when I would buy a lamp at a yard sale, take it home and paint the shade, or other times I would make my own shades for old lamps, always incorporating what was available around the house into the creation.

Here is a little photographic tour of some of the lamps that I've made over the years, these being the ones that I didn't give away to friends.

The tour begins with the front porch light, made from stained glass pieces and cheap sunglasses.
IMG_1370.jpg

Next is a shade that I made, or decorated with paint, pens, and clear acrylic medium:


IMG_1467.jpg

IMG_1471.jpg

This wall lamp I made using oil paints pressed between glass, then the frame is made from picture frames:
IMG_1476.jpg

IMG_1477.jpg
IMG_1483.jpg

IMG_1481.jpg

IMG_1479.jpg
IMG_1478.jpg

More pressed oil in glass, this light is mounted on the ceiling rafter.
IMG_1484.jpg

And finally, over the kitchen stove, pressed oil again, with floral wire frame:
IMG_1489.jpg


thanks for looking, all photos above are mine, 2017

Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 1.00.30 PM.png

@therealpaul

Sort:  

Very creative, love them all.

Hey, I appreciate it!

No problem, the oil and glass reminds me of the 1960's when they projected glass slides with oil behind rock groups.

When I was making these, every time I pressed down on the glass panes, the patterns would rearrange, and when I released it, the wet oils would form whole new fractals. I finally had to pick one that I liked and then let it dry, but those movements of the wet colors did remind me of those psychedelic displays that you mentioned.

Lamptastic.

Hey! I was telling dreemit that I thought about you a couple of days ago, and went and crept around on your page for the first time in a while for some reason. I must have sensed your return! Really good to see you.

Just one word to describe them - Spectacular :D

They are indeed a great work that is indeed for sure !
and i do even liked all of them but the 2nd seems to be great

I like the 2nd one too, it has a lot going on!

Those are really beautiful @therealpaul! You definitely have a very 'outside the box' approach to creativity and creation which i think is brilliant 👌😎 come and join us in our Discord server so other dedicated steemit bloggers can show appreciation to your work as well. If you are interested you can find the link at the end of all my posts. 😎😎😁

Thank you! I like to use what is laying around, the low-budget creator! I went to Discord, and apparently I already have an account, need to figure out how to log in before i can send messages, I saw that you saw me there!

Haha great. I am much the same when it comes to design or decor. My entire shop is decorated with recycled stuff. I love it. And you should be able to chat after about 10 min. Just be sure to read the guidelines though as we run a tight ship 😁👌

wow.....fantastic art
very good post.thanks for good post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57