Cubical Shading on a Small Drawing

in #art6 years ago

Here's a little drawing I made yesterday using colored pencils, incorporating squares and rectangles as shading. It was inspired by Dali's cubical painting of Abraham Lincoln.

IMG_4429.jpg

I used myself as the model for the drawing, but it doesn't really look like me.


Screen Shot 2018-07-27 at 12.33.06 PM.png


Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

I could see the resemblance! I like the weight distribution on this, very postmodernesque cubism. For me, it evokes a self-assured confidence that transcends any social anchors. I once did drawings in the style of postmodern pointilism, but it's of other women and my wife gets a bit pissed off when I put an emphasis to it so I won't be able to upload it haha!

Well when I saw it enlarged, many of my 'cubes' were not quite cubicle, so I definitely took some self-assured liberties with my commitment to the squares and rectangles. Oh I know you didn't seriously think about uploading those old pictures, but I'm sure your pointalistic skills made up for your questionable choice of models. ;)

Well at the time I was a free agent, but now that I am signed, I can't argue with my contractor!

I don't know, I can see it!

Okay, so have you heard about the steem monsters trading cards? I just started looking into it and Howie and I started buying them- apparently meesterboom's got a full set. Anyway, there are already cards that are worth a mint, even at current prices. Definitely worth picking some up I think. Here's the website: https://steemmonsters.com/#
And there steemit page is @steemmonsters.com. They have contests for writing and art where you can win packs- I don't know if I'll have enough time for this week's writing contest, but I'll probably jump in on the next one :)

Haha, ok so after I saw this I went to the site and ended up buying a BUNCH of cards. Thanks for showing me this, god I had so much fun opening those last night it was plain childish! I'll probably buy some more, I wanted a dragon! My first bundle that I opened had Lord of Darkness, way up on the Legendary scale, and I was hooked. After that it was Epic and Rare, but no more Legendary cards turned up last night. I may want to at least buy an Angel of Light to balance things out in the collection!

You got legendary and epic?? Do you have a horseshoe up your butt?? Haha, I have yet to get either! That's awesome, exactly the kind of childish that is right up my alley!

Edit: I ran over and bought another pack-- scored a gold worth three bucks, woo hoo, your luck was with me!

Yep, in the first pack I bought, I clicked the card and before it flipped, it shook, and rumbled and flashed, then flipped over; Lord of Darkness!

Loading...

Seeing this makes me feel happy for some reason.
I wonder what my colored pencil self portrait would look like? Hmm... You may have inspired my next post! :D

Yes! I like to be inspirational, and now I wonder too what yours will look like! This drawing is pretty small, maybe 6 inches tall, so it didn't take too long. I may try a larger version, and try to make it actually look like me!

Looks like a Byzantine saint.

Intriguing Style I wonder how many other paintings RR in this stylistic motif. You did well thank you for sharing. @therealpaul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82