Beer Tasting Review: The Infamous Mushroom Sock Ale

in #art6 years ago

Imagine if mushrooms were athletes, sweating and groaning, who wore sports socks during their training. Now, imagine a fine ale that tastes like those socks, and you will have imagined the taste of Mushroom Sock Ale.

IMG_4511.jpg

Containing no mushrooms, the great mystery of Mushroom Sock is how they got it to taste like it does, with it's protruding flavor reaching deep into the sinus cavities with every last sip. The secret is hidden behind a barrage of sensation, an assault on the facial region that gives the neck and body below a vigorous shudder.

This ale has a severely dense body and a flavor that will leave you gasping in amazement, and it's no wonder that Mushroom Sock is known as the ale that silenced the judges at Swill Fest last year, as those judges all quit drinking, and resigned immediately after tasting it. That's the kind of ale we are talking about here, and Mushroom Sock Ale has now established new standards in taste, even boasting with their slogan "One taste says it all" that whosoever sips upon a Mushroom Sock will be left speechless.

I applied my usual test to Mushroom Sock Ale, the three standard questions, and the results:

  • Did it taste like the lower portions of a dog's body?

Yes, if that dog wore socks constantly, and was fed nothing but raw fish and cottage cheese.

  • Did the ale froth up with any color or charm when poured?

Not sure if I'd call it froth, and while there was plenty of color, charm is probably not the right word to describe what I felt while I was pouring mine out.

  • Was there an aftertaste, and was it permanent?

Yes to both.

That's my review of the interesting Mushroom Sock Ale, try it out I guess, everyone likes different things. I won't need to drink it again, but others may enjoy the gagging and the involuntary convulsions, blindness and foaming at the mouth, it's just not really my thing.


the drawing above is mine, 2018, the product is not meant to resemble any actual brand, company or individual, and if it does then that's kinda funny I think
Screen Shot 2018-07-27 at 12.33.06 PM.png

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

I have not heard about it before.

It is only a drawing, a cartoon, there is no such drink that I know of really. This is my humor again!

Sort of a frothy emetic for those trying to quit the habit. Though just the smell of the jockular foot might just do it. Love your high bars of reach applied for the taste test. Dogs in tube socks. Gotta love it. The art is pretty right on too. Cheers.

I forgot to mention too that this is a non-alcoholic beverage, all the flavor, none of the rewards.

Ha haa, nothing better than sucking on an old, sweaty gym sock, and STILL not getting a buzz.

Just a terrible product all around. I had fun designing the bottle tho!

It is a bonny nice piece of art. Love the shrooms popping out of the sock. If anyone ever comes up with the stuff to put inside, I'm sure you will be contacted. I see joyous retirement on a beach in Aruba...

How delightfully disgusting! Righteously revolting! Save me a bottle!

The empty bottle is considered 'hazardous waste', but I'll hold on to it for you!

Ah but of course. Mushroom Sock Ale. When I get truly annoyed at people I offer it to them, suggesting that it's something that they'd want to drink. Perhaps a smoothie, some sort of fruit drink, a coffee, a nice steeming steaming mug of hot chocolate, etc. The authorities have questioned me a couple of times, but nothing can be proven.

After all

Those must have been truly annoying people, I'm sure they deserved a lukewarm glass of Mushroom Sock, masquerading as the brackish squeezings of their favorite plant or animal.

I don't think you will be able to need to drink anything ever again!

I shan't have another drop, of that... still taste the toadstool, and still have the greenish tinge around my gills.

Mmmmm I've heard of this mythical ale before but had no guts to try it. Perhaps now I should reconsider?

No, you considered correctly the first time; the guts are not made for this beverage, it's not to be taken internally.

Seems like some quality hooch.

An acquired taste, no doubt.

You will get athlete's foot, but in the esophagus.

At first, I wondered if it was a strange brew from some microbrewery, especially when there is a real wine called "Cat's Pee On A Gooseberry Bush." lol

I was hoping while I drew that picture that there was no such beverage in real life that I had somehow tapped into.

I was just happy it was a drawing and not a photo!

what a great blog😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84