An Attempt with Acrylic Paints

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey all! Happy Saturday!

I've been attempting to get back into painting for quite a while now. I've never been fantastic with paints, it's not my favourite medium at all!

Acrylics are probably my favourite though and I can usually recreate any cartoon characters and symbols with it quite easily.

For example this old thing I made many moons ago, never did finish it either LoL But it still looks pretty neat :)

IMG_5036.JPG

Coming up with my own things and painting real things, for example a flower or a tree, is not my strong suit!

That being said I'm always up for challenges and decided to attempt to paint from a picture of a flower I took while I was visiting Hatley Castle on Vancouver Island this past spring.

IMG_5211.JPG

Unfortunately once I checked my supplies I realized I was totally out of almost all colours! I had no red or pink, which was a problem!

I was left with some black, a little white, teal and blue.

That's no matter! I'll just make it work! LoL

Here's what I came up with:

IMG_5166.JPG

I call it a smoky flower 😆

I messed up the leaves and got pretty carried away with my vignette LoL

But that's ok! It's art and it's probably my first serious attempt using acrylics to create something like this, the fact I'm willing to show it means it wasn't a total failure so I'm happy!!

I'm going to continue to work at it though, like anything, practise makes better!

Thanks for reading!
Take care!
~The NeoHippy
IMG_4963.PNG

Sort:  

I love smoking flowers, I mean I live your Smokey flower 😉

Haha I have a passion for both! 😆

You are a real artist. your stuff is beautiful. Pink Floyd the wall great. Keep it up.

Thank you so much!!! I appreciate that! I wonder if more accomplished artists still feel like they aren't "real" artists? LoL

Working with a limited palette is great for improving skills and creativity - for years i only used crimson, ultramarine, emerald, lemon yellow, burnt umber and titanium white (6 colours) - just because of a lack of cash. I learnt to mix all the colours i needed from those and they're still my core tubes lol.

Oh wow that's so cool!!! I feel like that must have been a big factor in shaping your skills as an artist!
I picked up a set the other day, so I guess I'll be living it up for a while with all the colours!! LoL

I have found that i seem to have learnt the most when i have fewer materials at my disposal - like when i'm sketching outside and i can only take a few items. It forces you to improvise and experiment - i tend to get lazier if i have all the stuff i need as i don't have to think as much about what i'm doing - does that make sense?

It totally makes sense!! I've had that happen to me as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47