You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Artists Answer the Question: How do you manage art block?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Good pointers! My view on this is that if one wants to avoid lack of motivation, or art block, is to draw something every single day and also to have deadlines for your own work. If I feel lack of motivation it is usually after a large project and it can sometimes be daunting to work from a blank piece of white paper again. It is also a good idea to have some side projects you can work on as a warm up to the larger projects. Warming up in art is very important and one shouldn't forget that, much like stretching before doing sports. If nothing works, take a walk outside or focus on some other hobby for an hour or two, but make sure you come back to your pen and paper later in the day!

Sort:  

I totally agree with the side projects. At times I have multiple art pieces that I work on rotation so it keeps my interest and copes with my mood.

Thank you for that insight :)

I just figured I'd write something about art block since I've been so driven lately, I never had it. Just got physically worn out but not my interest.
Never dampened.

Great to hear! I think art block is more common for those who are starting out or have been drawing for a short while as they haven't yet developed a routine to it. I definitely can admit to having had my share of art blocks when starting out, ahah!

Me too! You're right. Well said. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67