A Girl and Her Chevy - Turning an Original Photo Into Pop Art

in #art7 years ago

I was going through some photos from old photo shoots last year when I had an idea.

I had so many photos that didn't make the "final cut" as far as the ones that I delivered to the client, but I wondered if I could still create something interesting from them.

I chose this raw, unedited photo to work with:
SAM_7762.jpg

I then converted the photo to a sketch outline in PhotoShop:
lineart.png

I then broke out my Wacom Tablet that I hadn't used in ages and started the long process of coloring and shading by hand.

I didn't save many of the "in progress" versions, but here's one where you can see it starting to come along:abby1xx.png

As you can see, I took some artistic liberty with the color of the truck. Red just seemed to add some much needed pop to the image.

Here's another as I'm getting a little closer to the final result:abby122.png

And finally, after about 15 hours of coloring and shading over the course of two days, this was my final result:AbbyFinalJpeg.jpg

I was pretty much just doing it to see if I could and I was pretty happy with the result. Didn't make any money from it, but I did learn how to do something new if I ever decide to do more.

What do you guys think? Should I do more of these? I've done a lot of pinup/vintage style shoots so I've got a ton of photos to work with.

Sort:  

Nice work, feel free to go check out some of mine as well

Very cool. You could use this technique to make sone bad-ass movie posters!

This is rad!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90