You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Glitter Bunny

in #art6 years ago

Interesting little details that I would have never noticed from a small photo...fun seeing into the mind of the artist and why the little things were done. Would think painting on styrofoam would be much harder, is it something you use often?

Not sure how I missed the alert for this post, sorry I'm late. Was actually stopping by to let you know that you should enter my costed that I just posted.

Sort:  

You know in my early years as an self-trained artist I was known for photorealism - basically painting photographically. Later I went to university and the teachers said: "do you want to be a camera?" - I realised that I was wasting my time and wanted to paint the way "Arthur" painted. The problem was that I was now sucked in toe "detail" - as a way of trying to loosen my brushstrokes I tried painting on sytrofoam because it is virtually impossible to paint too detailed on there. It worked and really helped loosen brushwork.

I will definitely enter the "my costed" thing - always nice to see you stop by my good friend @thedark horse

I agree with your teachers and glad you learned this. Even painting in a realistic way there needs to be artistic interpretation. Without the artist putting their vision into their work it's without heart and soul. So hard to explain what I mean, but I'm guessing you get it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79