The Power of storytelling ā€“ Rutas de Domingo (Roads of Sunday)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art ā€¢ 7 years ago

Here is my first ever music video šŸ™‚

This song has a unique story, Iā€™ve written it some years ago back when I was living in Argentina. At the time I was studying music but I was going through some stuff. The next day I had to go to see the therapist that was helping me, but I just wasnā€™t feeling like going and talk about my feelings haha. I knew that if I brought a new song then most of the session would be talking about it, instead of everything else. So I made up my mind to not go to sleep until I had a new song to show forā€¦ I didnā€™t sleep all night haha

It took me a while to get the music down, I just wasnā€™t feeling it. I didnā€™t knew what to sing about, I was needing some direction. So I decided to think in my greatest fear, and write about thatā€¦ But what was it? it took some time but finally I got it! ā€“ My greatest fear was going forth in my dream and my ambition of becoming an artistā€¦ and fail ā€“ Simple enough right? I was scared to bits about becoming and old man with nowhere to go, nowhere to return and hunted by the memories of everything Iā€™ve lost and left behind. This is where the song was born. The funny thing is that ones I identified the fear, the lyrics started pouring out, it took me less than five minutes to write it all, even though previously I had spent hours with nothing to show forā€¦ Life is strange that way šŸ™‚
The other amazing thing that happen, is that even though the song goes in length to describe the story of this old artist, and is quite grim about it. It still provides a happy ending, the main character is not sad at the end, in fact he is quite happyā€¦ How could this be? ā€“ I asked myself ā€“ Could this truly be my greatest fear?

Well the reason for this unexpected ending is that the old man understood that even though things are rough and he is alone, he still TRIED to go for his dreams. He was never stopped by anything, and despite the fact that he didnā€™t ā€œmake itā€, he lived life in his own terms, his own adventure ā€“ That was it! ā€“ Suddenly I didnā€™t feel the fear anymore, it was gone. My real deepest fear was not failingā€¦ it was not attempting.

Thatā€™s why the song ends with the guy singing: At least I lived my life ā€“ Over and over while he continues on his journey šŸ™‚

The crazy thing is that I started the song to avoid speaking about my feelings to my therapistā€¦ and ended up describing them perfectly, understanding them, and even breaking through themā€¦ Thatā€™s the power of art right there, the power of storytelling in itā€™s fullest. And the reason why I canā€™t see myself doing anything else šŸ™‚

Lyrics in English:

Iā€™m alone and far away from home

wrinkled by all the time Iā€™ve lost

I donā€™t have a road or a destination

Nor a place that I can go back to

I still remember the sound of their voices

And that love that I let escape

Iā€™m sad and I cry in the nights

To let my soul breath for a while

So many years and Iā€™m still travelling

in this mazes of chance

In this Sunday roads

I know that Iā€™ll always find something

Itā€™s better than letting myself rot in an office

Gathering up seconds to spend

And itā€™s true that sometimes I get tired

And I also think about escaping

Someone please lend me a ladder

Because to the heavens I still can not arrive

Someone please lend me a rifle
So to the heavens I may ascend

I know thereā€™s a lot of people out there

That have a lot to say

I know very few can understand me

And that no one can see what Iā€™ve seen

I can say only one thing

At least I lived my life.

Thanks so much for being here and experiencing this with me! If you liked and want to keep this going donā€™t forget to share, like and coment. Iā€™d love to hear from you! All suggestions for making this website and experience better is greatly aprreciated! remember that Iā€™m still learning and trying to make my way in this strange world šŸ™‚
In the mean timeā€¦

Keep imagining,

Keep loving

Cover-Thumb.jpg
header-2.png
https-2F2Fwww.facebook.com2Ftheartoftomas.png

If you like and want to hear more from me please Upvote, resteem, comment and/or Follow šŸ™‚ it really helps a lot!

tomas-1.jpg

See you in the next one!

Sort: Ā 

Nice post
Please upvote and follow

what sort of topics you post about? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57