Art - Raphael (Teenange Mutant Ninja Turtles) with steps

in #art6 years ago

Hello people!

I have not posted anything past 22 days because I bought an apartment, and you know moving things and settling up take a loot of time, and I started working night shifts then my grandpa passed away, so there was really a lot to deal with. Did not have the time nor willpower to draw during all that was happening but now I'm back.

Drew Ralph today, the truth is, drew him yesterday in a notebook at my work breaks and colored it today, but since it is a night shift, might be as well today . Used a regular notebook and a ink marker, then scanned it and did some digital work in Photoshop with a help of a drawing pad and pen for it. Here's the art:

06.jpg

The process of making it was fun, really fun, I feel so sad that I do not do this for income but something completely unrelated to art and creativity. I gotta do what I gotta do to survive, so... that covers it.

Bought some Deadpool comic books that inspired me a lot and just returned to the thing I love the most. Did not expect these results tough.

Let me take you through the process of this ninja turtle coming to 2D life:

tmnt.jpg

It all started with a few work breaks and a sketch that was finished in 7am, straight on without sketching

01.jpg

After I got some sleep I scanned it as you can see above and cleaned the background step by step in Photoshop

02.jpg

Added grey color here as a place holder in a layer below the lines, so I can use selection tools with more ease

03.jpg

Did some basic coloring here, for me it's the most boring part, because shadows are my favorite

04.jpg

Straight from the shadows, shadows be born, all of these are in separate layer one on top of another but all below the main lines

05.jpg

Lighting effects are inserted and worked on in this step

06.jpg

In the final phase background is added, signature splashes too, this time it looks a bit like ooze, or mutogen, how ever you remember it. And more lines and details in the main layer too.

Ok, really glad to be here and have the chance to share some new stuff with you. Will use the free time I menage to schedule for illustrating more and learning in the process. Hope that one day there will be a chance to continue down this road and make some money of it, even if it's less than my current salary, love what you do, live what you do, and when the time presents you an opportunity live from what you love I guess :)

Have a wonderful day people! Cowabunga!

Sort:  

Sorry about your grandpa, my condolences. Looking for time to make art in the midst of everything your going through is tough. glad your back tho. Great Raphael too.
Upv0ted 🙏

Thank you for your kind words!

WB @theartofrez! It is unfortunate the loss of your grandfather, i hope that art can compensate that bad feeling! Great strength and continues to do this great job!

Thank you for your kind words and inspiration

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54