My first dragon drawing

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemit people!!

Today I drew dragon for the first time, not sure should I be happy with the result or no. Seems like he came out like a good dragon of sorts. It was a challenge i made for myself to see if I can pull it off. All was done digitally, both illustration and colors.

07.jpg

Below are the steps of the process with a short description:

01.jpg

Here we have just plain lines for the setup

02.jpg

These are polished lines with a few details added

03.jpg

I added gray to fill the lines in, ready for shadowing etc

04.jpg

Added plain colors here

05.jpg

A bit of textures added here

07.jpg

And the finished product with light arranged and shadows.

Have an awesome day!!!!

Sort:  

You are making an amazing work @theartofrez!

Our friend @irwanumpal higly recommended to check your profile as we are always looking for new mentors and contributors for the @globalschool and @ccommons.art and friends initiatives.

Would be glad if you could contact me, I have the same username on discord (@jnmarteau). would happy glad to explain you more about this. Thank you for your attention! All the best, Jean

Thank you! Glad to hear that, will do :)

Well done! I like your illustration very much. Thanks for showing us the whole work process. How did you draw, with the mouse or with a pen pad (I don't even know the name for it)?

Thanks! I draw with some cheap mini drawing pad. That was used for this, and sometimes I draw by hand then scan it so colors can be done digitally.

Thanks @theartofrez. Have a nice day, steem on!

Super Clean.

Good work on the lineart then colouring in. Very nice. I love the angular jagged lines. Keep them coming!

Thank you! It came out like that, I wanted to do a sketch first but lines went softly yesterday, so I skipped sketching :D

Damn fine first lines, I must say.

Beautiful work! I hope you make more dragons in the future! :D
Also your line control is really amazing :)

Thanks! Definitely, there will be more dragons, this was my first one and I found it really inspiring to draw them. So many options and good freedom with creativity :D

Sweet! I know what you mean :D

nice work , clean lines and the dragons expression looks cool !!! feel free to join our little discord community of artists that has just started actually :) https://discord.gg/g6NhuFN

Thank you, I appreciate it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59