old locales, March 9th

in #art5 years ago


Worth a return visit, just to shoot more film.

Ayer Mansion

  • Built at a point in 1899 to 1902, Ayer mansion is the last surviving, intact residential commission of Louis Comfort Tiffany.
  • As of 2005, the U.S Department of the Interior named it a National Historic Landmark, the highest distinction a site could receive!
  • Born in Connecticut, the year 1822, Ayer obtained a sixth grade education and still became a successful businessman, founding a patent medicine company with brother, Dr. James C. Ayer.
  • Pioneered the interior design concept of viewing houses as a unity, all pieces working in concert.
  • It pains to inform yet, all other houses of Tiffany design faced destruction, even his summer home on Long Island, Laurelton Hall, lost to fire in 1957.
  • Ayer Mansion is indeed the last house ‘designed from inception’ by Louis Comfort Tiffany.

Little known sites of history like this one, are the reason I cannot be satisfied with just packing up my belongings and shipping off to some other metropolis in the hopes of striking it rich. I create, using elements of my environment, and little else. This is what drives the essence of my creativity, and I'm closer to finer pieces every day.

Suddenly, I have found a way to be
Wild and free, there's a path ahead of me. -- Alexa Harley

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33