The combination of art and homework!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

xSHDmmSeRHmtVJSUSsceXA.jpg


Teaching

Teaching is one of the best jobs ever. As an English teacher, I have chances to observe many different examples of life and teaching. It is not always easy to motivate my students do the tasks which are essential for them to learn the language, so I sometimes need to find some other ways to motivate them. Art is one of those ways which can help students to do their tasks more eagerly.

As I am working in a private language school, I have to be more careful and interested in my students. As an educator, their improvement in learning English is very crucial. All teachers would like to see their student advancing in the things that they are learning. It is the feedback which is not calculated with money. It is the feedback which brings us comfort mentally and emotionally.


fullsizeoutput_fd.jpeg


Art

One of my students is studying in the faculty of art. She is a teacher candidate who is probably going to follow some steps of be a teacher in future. When I gave her writing homework, she wasn't so eager to do to it. Then, we came up with a solution. If you don't find work that you are supposed to do, you must find something which can motivate you to do that thing even though you are reluctant.

We found a common way finally. It was a great idea to combine the art and English teaching together. As the homework was about introducing family members, she decided to draw their portraits. Personally, I found her work impressive and she decided to do her upcoming homework by drawing things, because this is the way that makes her feel comfortable and enthusiastic. When we look at the result, there is not problem with that.


6Wcb09OmSvWXsfFn6ya5Ww.jpg


Make difference

When you tell your students to do their homework in traditional ways, they usually feel bored. When you force them to do something, they will never accept to do that. It is our nature indeed. Many of my students are busy with their personal life. They have many others tasks to do apart from teaching English. That's why, In this tight schedule, we must find some interesting and useful ways to get their interest.

I usually try to give them some personal tasks like introducing their cultures or cities they like. By doing this, I encourage them to look for some sources to learn new things. In this way, they both learn new things and improve their knowledge in English language. It is important to make them feel that all the things which they are trying to do is interesting for both students and teachers!


1h3L9DtcTees1e6IwR2wHQ.jpg


Educating adults and children

Drawing something or making a powerpoint presentation is a way of creating something new for your students. I usually use drawing technique with my students who are between 7 and 13. As they are children basically, it is not a logical way to teach them grammar directly and they never understand how the things are working when we write many grammar rules on the board. They must mix it with some games or drawing activities.

It works with children a lot. Like in the example I have shown in this post, there are really creative people who are really eager to show their artistic skills. However, not all your students might be as talented as my student. In this point, it is better to ask them to prepare powerpoint presentations. When they prepare their presentation, they need to do a lot of research to show something in a language which is a good thing.

In addition to this, when they are done with preparing their presentations, they need to present it in the class. It will give them the opportunity to speak and show their verbal skills. Many of my students are shy to speak, but asking them to present their work in class will help them to feel confident. Overall, they will learn many new things together!


fullsizeoutput_10b.jpeg


Notes

As a member of @sndbox, I have asked my student to draw an example logo of Sndbox, it was a gift from her! By doing this, I had a a chance to introduce Steemit and blockchain world to my students. It was a package of doing many things altogether. While they were learning English, they also said hi to Steemit world!

There are many educators who come together under the support of @Steemiteducation. I would like to learn how you motivate your students to do to their homework. It is our duty to make lessons and homework interesting for them. You can post your ideas below this post, thanks for your contribution in advance.

I hope, you have enjoyed reading my post. By the way, I have published these drawings with the permission given by my student. All rights are reserved to her! Have a nice day and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

Hello to your class! What a beautiful logo and amazing artwork :D

Thank you for the support! :)

Wow, I think you are an encelent english teacher, I do like your writing, nice to read it. I love to learn how to write in good way, how to connect ideas into the words and easy to understand. It could be a very nice idea to do with my students as I am teaching english too. Its not easy to ask the students to write. Thanks for sharing your idea.
IMG20161017153729.jpg
teaching english is fun.

Teaching English is really fun, but it requires lots of patience, greetings, mate!

The perfect combination. Thank you @teachblogger for the picture you have described. true, being a teacher is the noblest thing, a science that will not break for us as a teacher. There are many smart people in this world but they can not afford to be good teachers because of how their delivery can not be captured by students. But you are able to find a solution so that your students can learn actively in receiving the knowledge you give. Good jobs @teachblogger. Hopefully there will be more generations of smart and intelligent successors in appreciating their knowledge as you.

Thank you so much for your nice wishes :)

Thank you so much for support! Following you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66299.06
ETH 3319.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69