You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎨 "The Source" - Graphite pencil, watercolor and acrylics on reverse side of glass

in #art7 years ago

Highlights so crisp, you could get a tan.

I love your airbrush and painting technique. The subtle shadows draw me in, in addition to your linework and color choices.

I'd love to see what you could do with a game engine and a whole year to produce textured meshes.

The result would be fantastic, just like your paintings.

Sort:  

You have such a way with words, even a comment from you is a work of art. Feeling almost embarrassed to answer in my crude way.. the thing I don't understand is the game engine and textured meshes. Maybe you could point me in the right direction?

I will say that it is a deep subject that may distract you from your other pursuits, but here's some stuff that you may find useful/interesting:

Unreal 4 Game Engine:

https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/what-is-unreal-engine-4

(There are others, but this one allows you to work with it for free until you decide to do anything commercial, then its a small percentage. It also looks the best across many different styles and aesthetics.)

Mesh Creation Tools:

Maya/Autodesk (Pricey, but excellent - 30day Trial) https://www.autodesk.com/products/maya/overview

Blender (Free, but obfuscating menu design is distracting to some) - https://www.blender.org/

Procedural Texturing Tools - Allegorithmic "Substance" Tool Suite - https://www.allegorithmic.com/
(The textures can be produced from photo/scan inputs as well - very powerful toolset.)

I'd love to see you do something with these, if you have some time to invest.

Feel free to ask any questions, I'd be happy to answer or at least point you to someone who can.

I see, thanks for the explanation and the links. Phew... don't think I can put any more on my plate anytime soon..

I have done a few simple things with blender, like my steampunk dragon, but these things are rather crude and simple, as I "render" the old fashioned way..

dragon_rend-12e_3-75%.jpg

Then I say grab Unreal 4 and Substance Painter to give it a go. You have decent models to work with already.

I realize it takes out time from things, but it could open other avenues you haven't explored.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38