You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dare call yourself an artist, what exaclty is that anyway ?

in #art8 years ago

I've never considered myself an artist beyond loving to draw when I was a kid. Some art school counselor told me I wasn't creative enough and, well, I believed him and applied myself elsewhere. For the past (nearly) 2 decades, my profession has been as a computer programmer. It may sound odd, but I see a creative aspect in the intangible lines and loops of my code. But that aside, I have long since enjoyed writing (journaling) as a creative outlet. There's also a budding photographer in me as well. And more recently, I'm trying out painting.

What is an artist? It's a good question. Am I one, however new to it? I think an artist is simply one who creates beautiful or meaningful things for the mere enjoyment of the doing of it. But where does that leave my code? If I create lines if code that are simplistic yet powerful, and I enjoyed it, is it art? If I did it on commission, is it then not art? I don't know the definition either. But I can say one thing for sure. I am (re?)discovering my artistic side, and it's definitely a side I will continue to foster. Thanks for the food for thought!

Sort:  

Yeah you know perhaps an artist has to more adaptable not only with what they create but also with the term "artist". The world is changing and so is art. Historically speaking artists have generally been ahead of the times, however I think perhaps for the first time, artists are lost for direction due to the speed of advancing technology. Thus those who see themselves as "artists" will now have to consider themselves more as "creators" and that will in itself open up the whole area of what we call "art". What ever the case my friend I think you should forget that art councellor and continue to listen to your inner voice for it you feel a creative spirit growing within in you I believe that in itself give you the right to create. Good luck and thanks for the response.

Thanks for the encouragement. I've no idea if I have any skills, but... I do enjoy the process! When I finish my first painting, I plan to share it. :)

Great, please do that, I will "follow" you so I can see when you share it. It is said that the first step in being an artist it to take the brave action of showing your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51