Dadโ€™s 70th Birthday Cake ๐Ÿ’ ๐Ÿ‘ด ๐ŸŽ‚

in #art โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

dad bday cake.JPG

Here is a cake I had made for my dadโ€™s 70th birthday. Lucky for him it was during my baking years, otherwise it would have been a store bought cake. Designing the cake was fun, I wanted to create something playful.

He was born in the year of the monkey, likes table tennis and Tai Chi. So I decided to incorporate all 3 elements into one. My design involves my dad playing table tennis in his tai chi attire (plus fan) against a cheating monkey with four bats!! Lol

~~~~๐Ÿ’~~~~๐Ÿ‘ด~~~~๐ŸŽ‚~~~~๐Ÿ’~~~~๐Ÿ‘ด~~~~

Here is a sketch of the ideas I had and thoughts on how to go about making them. In particular the bats so they resembled the real table tennis bats. Oh! I just realised something I missed. I forgot the ball!!!

Screenshot_20180221-192203.jpg

Here is a colour sketch I had done on my note one to see which colours would go together. Obviously from both hand and digital sketch I had done, I am not very good at drawing the monkey hahaha


~~~~๐Ÿ’~~~~๐Ÿ‘ด~~~~๐ŸŽ‚~~~~๐Ÿ’~~~~๐Ÿ‘ด~~~~

I made the monkey and model of my dad in advance. My dad still has the monkey on display somewhere in the lounge. Not sure where the man is though. The monkey was a little fun to make, I like his toes. They look cute after piecing them together. Oh and we canโ€™t forget the curling tail.

dad bday cake2.JPG

~~~~๐Ÿ’~~~~๐Ÿ‘ด~~~~๐ŸŽ‚~~~~๐Ÿ’~~~~๐Ÿ‘ด~~~~

I didnโ€™t do a good job on the man model though. I was too focused on getting him to stand in a Tai Chi stance so I made the torso cone shaped to make it easier to hold the stance.

But I did give him a nice hairdo at the front and made him look younger lol. This was where I decided the next time I do 3D hair; I will work on it more and find a way to make it look nicer.

~~~~๐Ÿ’~~~~๐Ÿ‘ด~~~~๐ŸŽ‚~~~~๐Ÿ’~~~~๐Ÿ‘ด~~~~


Also the cake seemed a little bare on the edges so I made leaves using moulds to place around the cake. I also used edible gold paint to paint the number 70. Overall dad was happy, excited and surprised. The kids loved it too and helped grandpa blow out the candles before asking if they could have the 'golden numbers' to eat.

Sort: ย 

Man, you and @thekitchenfairy are so talented when it comes to these fancy cakes that look like art. This seems like a shame to cut into.

I โค๏ธ you!

Youโ€™re a good and talented daughter! Love your cakes. Make some cupcakes too! Theyโ€™d be so cute! :)

So cute!

Happy birthday to your father.
The cake you made is excellent.

๊ฐ์‚ฌํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค

Aaah thanks for tagging @choogirl

I remembered there were one, two, three, cake ladies on #teamaustralia but wasn't fast enough to follow and I forgot who was who ๐Ÿ˜…

Cool cake supersoju!! Happy Birthday to your father!

And following you now since I heard you are Dexter as well ๐Ÿ˜‚ I love that tv series

Too bad they had to kill Deb ๐Ÿ˜ข

hahaha cool a fellow cake maker ๐Ÿ™‹๐Ÿ™Œ
Thanks @thekitchenfairy

lol I've never seen Dexter, maybe I ought to start watching it since both you and @choogirl have said it was good.

The Dexter joke is because @supersoju is Dexter. She has a slide collection made up of things she's killed: bees, lady beetles, ants, possibly Stephen Hawking... the victim list goes on. Be careful, Fairy, she's on the lookout for human blood next. :)

Wow this is so good, I agree the monkeys toes are super cute. It would feel sad when its time to cut these masterpieces.

Congratulations! Your post is a winner in the #dailyfoodphotography tag weekly contest! View the winner's blog featuring your photograph and check your wallet for the prize. Thanks for participating and please support the curator or other winners if you enjoy the post.

The contest was started by @howtostartablog and I'm the current curator. If you prefer not to click on links, you can find the Weekly Winners and Top Ten Compilation post on my blog @mininthecity

Wow Thanks @mininthecity! I will check out the other winners. Cheers!

Thank you for sharing this awesome cake and special story with the #dailyfoodphotography tag! I am very impressed with the artistic decorations and how you made it meaningful to honor your dad. My niece likes to bake and decorate cakes, however it is not a talent of mine. Upvoted!

Thanks a bunch! I tried my best to make it playful and something my dad would like. It was fun designing and making the decorations. Cheers!

Delicious cake) you did a great job.

Thanks @anna-mi, oh I just checked out your baked cauliflower, it looks so good!

Wow beautiful cake
I love the color and the design
Thank you for sharing..
happy birthday to your dad..
God bless your family..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13