You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: All art should be considered safe for work!

in #art6 years ago

Please keep lobbying to get this rating system approved. Something is better than nothing (for prudes will be prudes) but anything is better than the fear of offending your boss with honest flesh.
I always found film ratings very useful in the more moderate countries, where 18+ told you exactly what to expect (yawn) and that 12+ was probably going to be a complicated script (yay!) while 16+ could get very gory and smutty. Then again I've seen 9 Songs rated as 18+ which is ridiculous.
Kids shouldn't be on here. People with hang-ups will be hereby advised to view discretely or not at all.
Film-ratings ain't what they used to be, anymore (in some countries) and it's plain deplorable what people allow children between 12-16 watch.

(Stick to Disney or go do some crafts with under twelves -also don't take them to Beinart's gallery.)

Sort:  

Kids shouldn't be on here.

I strongly disagree with this. And I'd happily show my godkids Jon's posts. They're interested in art and surrealism, and nobody's brought them up to be afraid of bodies.

There is a time and a place for everything. Depends what age you are talking about. And what the nudity is meaning to convey. Greek statues are also naked and I wouldn't hesitate to walk past them with a child, but showing them is pointless. Some of the pictures above are about sexuality. Not a suitable topic for young children. Hasn't got anything to do with prudishness but with appealing to the interests of the child.

When I was a kid, I appreciated a lot of highly-sexualized art in other ways. I loved the original Shall We Dance movie for its insight into Japan, and most of the innuendo went right over my head. Which made it fun to watch again as an adult.

I'm pretty sure my 11-year-old goddaughter would appreciate "Girl Blown Away" on a non-sexual level, and if she came back to it when sexually aware would find something new in it that would be a different experience than if she had never seen it before. The political-sexual context of "Proscaenia" I'm sure would go completely unread until she encounters hard-core feminism, but she'd enjoy the dollhouse. She'd probably find "The Garden of Delight" confusing and boring, but honestly so do I.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61