IM ALIVE & with some artsy ceramic stuff

in #art7 years ago

Hello my steemit people!! im sorry for been away for so long but many things piled over and blogging wasn't one of them.

Let's start: I'm part of a group of people who love pottery and ceramic, we are +10 who not only share a workshop, clay, ovens and etc resources but also direct investigations in the area of the developing a better ceramic technique, like investigating clay, types of clays, what types of clays exist in the country, where they are, where can we find more sediments, glazes, oven work, burn etc.. (there are many ceramic terms that i only know in spanish so if there's a ceramist in the audience that can fix some or there's something you do not understand not be afraid to ask).

In my last time in the workshop I made this skull, it's not baked yet (it hasn't been it's first time in the oven):

I wasn't feeling happy with it, so I decided to make something else to accompany it, like a body or something.

I needed to leave it rest for at least 30 - 45 min because the clay was too soft to keep working (for the ceramists, yes the climate is kinds humid-hot this part of the year, also the workshop has a rustic zinc roof and it makes the heat spread, the pieces dry really fast) The ending work was so satisfactory that I was actually thinking about leaving it without the head it was intended it for.

Also took a piece I made like a month ago that was already pretty dry and ready to it's first dive into the oven to the "to the oven" section.

I only have time to go once a week (Saturdays) but because of my spare time i stated with some others to go tomorrow, I have no idea what i'm going to do (never have), but now we have a ceramic lathe (we made ourselves is so exiting) Rosalía has no more excuses not to learn how to use it properly, wish me luck.

Sort:  

That's a fantastic piece of art @straydays and looks amazing.

Thanks, i will surely keep you guys updated, they will look amazing after a few times in the oven.

This is a good art. Looks scary as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95