Sketchbook Gryphon and Warrior

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Most of the time, my sketchbook is a place for doodles and beginnings. Other times I find myself compelled to finish out the tiniest details of a character or scene. Here is one of those obsessive little drawings. 



This image of a warrior girl and gryphon was drawn in my moleskin 9x12" sketchbook. The white spots are where I erased so much that it took the yellow coloring off the paper. I was initially going to draw an entire scene, but liked isolating the girl and the creature and leaving it like that.



I find I'm most likely to finish out a sketchbook drawing if I am drawn the the face of my character, and I really like the strength in hers. I also like drawing hair and clothing in a decorative way. Because this image is so simple, the little details (like the pattern on her sleeves) are more important to the overall piece.



I like adding patterns to almost everything I draw, apparently including Gryphons.



And most of my characters wear boots. I'm not sure why.



Sometimes I'll scan my sketchbook pieces into the computer and clean them up. Here is an example of how this drawing looks after I bring it into Photoshop, add a little contrast, clean it up a bit, and change the image to black-and-white.  

I'd like to continue this series and draw more warrior girls riding peculiar pets. When I do, I'll be sure to post the results!

Sort:  

Its so great! I also scan my drawings into the computer and clean them up, to make them more perfect :)

Yep, the computer has proven a useful tool even when I work traditionally for sure!

LOVE this one @storyseeker! Gryphons are my favorite!

This is the first time I've drawn one! My son's name is Griffin though, so I'd been wanting to draw one for some time...

What a cute name!

Yup that's cool. I loved drawing in pencil and ink. Designed a few tattoos for my wife which is pretty awesome feeling seeing it on her.

Thanks! I've had a few folks take some of my work and turn it into tattoos. One was a full-color full sleeve design. That was pretty cool to see!

I love this warrior girl so much @storyseeker Ive looked through your blog, your artworks are amazing!

Thanks so much @witchcraftblog ! I appreciate the nice words :)

Jaime, wow! Getting lost in the details - me too. It's funny you say that about drawing the face of your character and that deciding how far you take it. I had never thought about that before - but that's how it works for me as well. If the face is not working, the drawing is lost. The claws! So glad to see this - it's such a beautiful drawing.

Gryphon Griffin! He has seen this one, right? I'd love to hear his response.

you know, I'm not actually sure. He's not quite as enamored with my work as I think he should be ;)

Funny thing about that - they never are. My daughter is learning to draw by copying images on Google. She wouldn't ask me how to draw anything if her life depended on it. :)

Thanks! and on that note - I really responded to the girl you drew for the lips post. Something about her eyes... I remember thinking that she seemed particularly alive. The strange thing is how some characters just "work" and others just never will.

Thank you! Yes, they do - it all depends on whether the stars are aligned. You can't force it. :/

wow, I just love the patterns and detail and expressions on your characters, so imaginative!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61039.43
ETH 2460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66