Visual Journal page--Zen quote on watercolor...

in #art6 years ago

Ikkyu(u) Soujun Zenji (1394-1481) is one of the most well known Japanese Zen Masters. It seems that his eccentric nature was fairly typical of the great masters who seemed frustrated with the "watered-down" practice of many--and the focus on dogma instead of direct experience. This is one of my favorite "quotes/poems" of his and I felt that it went well with the background watercolor in my traveler's notebook. I am always drawn to those words that are able to touch the deep vastness of being.

..."Every day, priests minutely examine the law, and endlessly chant complicated sutras. Before that, though, they should learn how to read the love letters sent by the wind and the rain, the snow and moon." ~Ikkyu

IMG_8467.JPG

Sort:  

Lovely! Thank you.

Thank you for the comment :)

dear friend your writing is very beautiful, I am thankful to you from my heart, and I want to go through such beautiful posts all the time, I can certainly afford to be, I will certainly be submissive to you, good friends, be healthy ,,,,,

Great story and good writing.i like your post and upvoted.

dear @stonetortoise
I liked your post....thanks for sharing with us...

this article is very prosperous thanks for shere @stonetortoise

Beauty art
Nice colors
I upvote and resteem

So sweet and good article

dear companion your written work is extremely lovely, I am grateful to you from my heart, and I need to experience such wonderful posts constantly, I can surely stand to be, I will unquestionably be tame to you, great companions, be sound

Congratulations @stonetortoise! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @stonetortoise! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10