Etherworks Sculpture & Illuminations Studio Projects Overview

in #art7 years ago

_RTI4386-1 b sRGB PREVIEW size.jpg

Ok, so having just barely arrived in Steemit-world, I figured it would be useful to give you guys a bit of an intro to my studio line-up as an artist, particularly since I will likely be sharing mostly from this part of my world. It seems I've been a working artist for (wow!) almost 30 years now, and as a result some patterns have started to stick.

First off, I'm a sculptor. I love to design and produce things in 3D. That could mean just about anything, out of anything. However, I have settled on stone and glass as my favourite materials. Stone is resilient and durable. It can have fascinating textures and malleablity. With the right approach, tools and loads of patience, it can be very cooperative. Glass, on the other hand, is ridiculously fragile, loaded with colour, and highly technical to work with. More patience needed, again. I often combine these two on purpose, because they offer fantastic contrast. (More on this down the road!)

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_6b.jpg

Most of the projects that come through my studio on a regular basis are commissions. These are predominantly glass-based, and often lighting. Custom lighting jobs based on hand cast glass shades supported by wrought iron frames are very common.
And, unusual! Whimsy and originality are what we will likely find in these projects.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_59.jpg

Then there are the pieces that come from a more personal place in me. This is when carving stone becomes an excersise in discovering and releasing something new within. Something internally loud, that cannot find English, but needs to be let out and shared. Such as "Healing Ring of Light" (detail)...

Healing Ring of Light, detail.JPG

And every once in a while I can be found creating something that actually hangs on a wall. Maybe even a painting, although that's getting dangerously flat for my habit. These days, being summer, I think about being on the water... and images like this might happen...

rEio6rxsREGZlWSkbqIACQ_thumb_a17.jpg

So this is me kicking the door open and inviting you all in. More to come about what happens in this space!

(Imagery used may be found on my website or in previously used promotional material.)

Sort:  

Congratulations @stonemaiden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@stonemaiden, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!

Your creativity and freedom inspires me. Today, I'm feeling "something internally loud, that cannot find English, but needs to be let out and shared." I need to go figure out how to make/let that happen. Thank you for joining Steemit. I am following you and looking forward to seeing more.

Thanks Samantha! Hurray for mutual inspiration! I'm thrilled to be able to encourage this process in you and in anybody. So necessary!

You are very welcome! You speak the truth!!!

Congratulations @stonemaiden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome, I like work you posted, waiting for more works of yours, this seen here is already amazing to me.

Thank you! Glad you like it!

I like your artwork.

Awsome. Looking forward to see more of your work!

Great work! I look forward to seeing more.

#circleoffriends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51