Sea Goddess

in #art7 years ago (edited)

The other day, I decided to challenge myself by dipping my toe into a little mixed media.


I am not great at the drawing aspect, but every once in a while, I throw that aside and do it ANYWAY if I find something rare enough to inspire me or make me want to try.

Well, reading a beautiful prompt by @sammosk for a small competition did just that:


Her eyes roiled with the fury of seafoam flying, a depth of emotion there like shadows where the light no longer reaches.

Debris rained as denizens of the deep bore another boat down. Screams of the ones beneath who fought with silent adoration in the eyes of the ones who willingly succumbed only fueling her rage.

She was summoned by the Great Mother, her fury would be writ through the ages.. But why?



My head was instantly filled with fantastical images of a vengeful sea goddess, or one that was forced to watch the cataclysm in silence and fury.

So I set to work, trying to make something with my less-than-honed art skills.

Unfortunately, instead of coming out ominous and foreboding, it came out "pretty".



dance6.jpg

Since it came out less powerful than I wanted, I decided to hold it back from the competition.



When I do get the wild hair to move outside my wheelhouse, I usually look around and pick up a couple things, then put them together. That night, while looking for an acceptable canvas, my eyes fell on some of my cross stitch fabric.

"Well, why the hell not? Let's try." I thought.



I didn't feel like breaking out my actual paint because, honestly, it is messy and I wasn't in a messy mood. That was when I picked up some really nice, professional brand watercolor pencils I had in my case and have never tried to use.

Small example of the process:



dance.jpg

Rough sketch. (As you can tell I can NOT draw hands.)


dance2.jpg

Trying out filling and shading with the dry water colors.


dance3.jpg

Finished laying in colors and hit it with a wet paint brush. That was an interesting experience!


dance 4.jpg

I decided that I wanted to half stitch some hair into the canvas. Because... once again, why the hell not?


dance5.jpg

Finished product! Yay!



And there you have it! I made a thing.

It is a pretty okay thing!



stitchhead.png

credit to Imgur and Tumblr for gifs.

Sort:  

She turned out great! I think you could have entered her into the contest

I love this piece and have enjoyed checking out your other posts. It never occurred to me to draw on aida cloth. Turned out well! If you are interested in a Coffee Hour chat on Discord for Fiberartists check the coffee hour post in my blog for the link. I bet you'd love using arduino in your fiber projects. I haven't tried it yet but I plan. Hope to see you there.

Did you name she who rises as the tides?

I love her skies.

I like it good job!

I think it looks great!

Nice stitch work Stitchy. 😉
A change from your usual stuff babe. ❤️

She is beautiful! Art rarely turns out the way we see it in our heads. Sometimes it's better, sometimes it's just different, and sometimes we feel like we need to burn it and start over no matter how much everybody else may like it. Just keep doing you. I like the textural concept of mixing paint and stitching. I'd love to see more =)

You did this by dipping your toes in the paint?! That's amazing!!

J/k. ;) I love this! The sky is super cool. Will you cross stitch the rest of her body?

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.22 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @overkillcoin. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82