Painting Peak Moments Of Your Life - Recording the fun of my birthday evening ๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿผ๐ŸŒดsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art โ€ข 7 years ago

Do you ever have moments in your life that you know you will smile and savor forever? I had one of those experiences that was so juicy with life and connections that it was like someone had written an amazing story filled with beautiful strangers and unexpected surprises.

78F67CC3-AAE8-4BA8-BF57-8D2798C991AC.jpeg

We were on vacation with my family for my 60th birthday...yeah, I said 60. Hard for me to believe too. We had a beautiful dinner out with my hubby, kids and grandkids and then we came back to the house we were renting and everyone went to bed, but hubby and I wanted to stay up and savor the evening a while longer. We heard some fun music coming from next door. My husband said, โ€œSounds like they are having a party. I want to go over there.โ€ I told him we just couldnโ€™t invite ourselves over. He saw one of the ladies taking her trash out and started a conversation with her. She was telling him about moving to Cayman from Cuba to make a better life for herself. She lived there with her two nieces. Just then, our property manager drove up and came over and started talking to her too in Spanish. I heard her tell the lady that my husband liked the music and loved to dance. Her face lit up and she invited us over and her nieces came and they cranked up the music and we danced! Three women whom weโ€™ve never met in our lives, took us into their home and treated us with such hospitality!

Then they found out it was my birthday and they started hugging me and played some Cuban birthday songs. It was all a bit surreal! If I was as if I was writing a novel and coming up with interesting characters and unexpected situations. And then...I looked up and saw the police pull into the driveway. ๐Ÿ˜ฒ One of the ladies went out and talked to them. I was thinking we were being too loud or something, but it turned out they were looking for the ladyโ€™s ex husband. We got a laugh out of that as she gave them directions to find him. She came in sighing with relief. She said she thought they were coming after my husband and I. LOL With more laughter and dancing, we gradually wound down the evening.

The experience made such an impression on me, I had to do a painting to commemorate. First I did a digital study to develop my characters.

B2BD3F77-8170-454C-BA9D-14DA79858E81.jpeg

E198A015-95C5-4436-AD3C-A5005FB69B61.jpeg

7D5964E5-9C75-4FEF-9E2C-5863E7468224.jpeg

E99B21B3-FA47-42E6-87A7-C9B99C2AE381.jpeg

Then I primed a 2โ€™ x 4โ€™ piece of hardboard and sketched the ladies. I wanted to put all of us on the painting, but after I had the first three of us, my husband said it looked better with just three. So I left it that way.

B4A75FFC-36F9-4C89-A1AC-538151BBB0C9.jpeg

A long rainy Saturday here at home allowed me an uninterrupted day in my studio to finish. I love how the foliage and characters took on a sort of folk art style. It is unusual for me to do a painting just for myself. I am keeping this one to remind me of how alive and vibrant I felt that night. Bring on the next 60 years!

Thanks for joining me on my adventure!

ECCF9710-44BD-4043-BC6E-04E7984888B7.jpeg

B0099CAE-430C-44A6-B66F-F137D2B6F254.png

Sort: ย 
ย 7 years agoย (edited)

I love your story and the way you made an art out of it... it's pure creativity to me.

Steem on in the still waters.

Thank you so much @dorth and thanks for the resteem! I will be following you. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thanks for the follow. I just love the way you decided to turn your fun moment into an art. We can all learn to make such marks on memorable days as this.

What a story @stillwatersart, those are the moments that make life beautiful :)

Thank you so much! ๐ŸŒบ๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒบ๐ŸŒด

Really enjoyed your retelling and share. And happy super belated birthday~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75