Making the best out of the Quarantine! Learning how to make 3D Models!

in #art4 years ago (edited)

Coronavirus granted me the opportunity to start learning 3d Modeling!

I will force myself not be able to say "my quarantine time was boring", I refuse to let this awful times to take me down not I will let it to take away my time, I will fight back and challenge myself to endure while enjoying my quarantine time

...

On this occasion I set myself the challenge of learning 3D animation without any previous knowledge about it. The first figure I wanted to make is a Sinoceratops


Aren't Dinosaurs a little bit too difficult for a beginner?

Please don't you ask me why a dinosaur, this was the idea of my 4-year-old nephew who loves dinosaurs 🤣, I only picked a dinosaur we both liked since the goal of all this id have fun while learning something useful lol.

So far I have learned that the 3D animation process consists of several stages:

1. Blockout

This technique refers to creating the basic body shapes of the figure using geometries figures such as cubes and spheres.

2. Modeling

It refers to the process of sculpting the figure, here the figure takes a well-defined shape in "Low Poly" quality, which implies a basic geometry with little detail or "High Poly" that requires greater geometric complexity and, in turn, more degree of details.

3.Textured

It implies adding texture to the model, the textures are flat images that are selected to the 3D model to grant it color and detail.

4. Rigging & Skinning

Here the skeleton of the figure is created and added to give it mobility during the animation.

5. And lastly, my ultimate goal. The animation

As its name implies, it is the process of giving the desired movement to the final model.



Well, to start this funny personal project I made processes 1 and 2 in low poly quality for my dinosaur figure using the Blender 2.82a program

.

start.png

This was the process that I carried out between yesterday and today, starting with a basic geometric shape such as a parallelepiped, from which many other figures emerged to gradually shape our dinosaur.

casi listo low poly.png

When I learned how to handle the interface, its shortcuts, tools, and tricks it slowly started to look acceptably good and I was very happy that my nephew recognized the Sinoceratops.

solid lateral.png

This is just the beginning, it will be a very interesting process that I will be very happy to share with the Hive community.

wireframe.png

Credit for me finally deciding to post it should be giving to @joelsegovia... I'm extremely shy but he insisted for so long that I thought that I had to give it a try, let's see how it all turns out 😄

All images are of my original creation

See you soon and thanks for reading!


Originally posted here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42