Drawing contest - 10 Steem + 100% Steem Dollars/Steem from this post

in #art7 years ago

The contest

I am putting together my story Home To Texas: Recollections of a Texas Badman for Kindle publishing. I want a kick ass drawing of the hero, Wallace Stevens, for the cover art.

I will give 10 Steem, plus all the liquid Steem Dollars/Steem from this post to the best picture submitted to the comments here. I will choose the best entry myself. Any artistic style is acceptable, other than outlandish.

NOTE: By entering the contest, the winner is granting me full permission to use and re-use his work in regard to my own book, Home To Texas: Recollections of a Texas Badman in perpetuity

I may offer other contestants Steem or Steem Dollars for the same permission if I like their art, but don't select it as this contest's winner.

Contest ends 1/6/17, may be extended at request

What I need in the picture

  • Must be usable as a Kindle/Amazon publishing book cover
  • Must look good as a Kindle/Amazon publishing book cover ;>
  • Subject is a confederate cavalryman on a grey horse
  • Cavalryman should be dark-haired, no hat, clean-shaven
  • Cavalryman should have a cocky grin, not arrogant but more of a shiteating grin: 1. shit-eating grin: (a) a broad grin expressing uncontrollable delight or (self-)satisfaction, esp. at having got away with something outrageous or improper.
  • From the intro, I was wearin my cavalry shortcoat with my sergeant stripes, and the yella stripes down my legs
  • Cavalryman should be armed with a double barrell shotgun, cut short ( i.e. a coach gun)
  • Cavalryman should be wearing a saber (if you want to be really technical, make it a US Army Cavalry officer's sword, but I don't think that level of detail is necessary)
  • Selection of pose is up to artist ( in battle, riding full out, surveying the land before him, pointing the shotgun at the reader, etc)
  • Bonus points: Put a Comanche maiden riding behind him.
  • Bonus points: His sidearms should include Le Mat pistols. This would be hard to tell with the pistols holstered, now that I think of it ;>

I don't think I would have finished this book if it were not for the Steemit community! Please help me launch it commercially by resteeming this post and recommending the contest to your artist friends! Thank you all so much!

Sort:  

Cool, how do I send it to you?

just post it in the comments ;) thanks!

you can upload it to http://postimage.org/ or a similar site to host it, and then link the pic here

another question, does this contest end on June 1st? or January 6th?

January 6th, but I can extend a little if you need more time

hey sorry i got really busy with stuff, i didnt realize you needed done so fast. my bad!

Upvoted so as to sweeten the pot for the winner.

Well, I'm not an artist.. But a civil war history fan/ reenactor...looking forward to reading ! Good luck

Greg, the end of the story is here, with links to the rest of the chapters:
https://steemit.com/fiction/@stevescoins/home-to-texas-recollections-of-a-texas-badman-the-end

Thanks for the interest!

This is my own "entry"...it doesn't really count in the contest, but you have to beat it to win

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13