Yea, I burn my own art...and it feels good too.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Yosemite-Falls-Coldie-3D-Fine-Art.jpg

What started off as a way to savage an experiment gone awry, I quickly fell in love with burning my creations. The permanence of fire on canvas is fascinating to me.

Watching the wood turn red hot and seeing the fire char deep into the wood, giving it a texture that is as natural as the growth of the tree it once was, fire is the natural return to the ether that this wood was destined to go to.

I put all this work into creating something, then I take a blow torch to it. While I have a plan in mind before I start burning, sometime shit happens and the burning takes on a life of its own. I enjoy taking away areas of the canvas that also make shapes like triangles and strategically placed burn holes that add to the overall balance and composition of the art piece.

I love the contrast between my images that are new-media with 3D glasses and the destructive / dsytopian effect of burned canvas.

In 100 years from now when someone comes across my art, are they going to understand that I did this on purpose? Or will it look like very other piece of art that got burned, torn and otherwise discarded.

DSC_6514-web.jpg

Invasion-Coldie-Anaglyph-3D-fine-art.jpg

Palace-of-the-Cosmos.jpg

WelcomeHome-Animation.gif

DSC_6558.JPG

DSC_6559.JPG

DSC_6579.JPG

Ryan_Colditz_3D.gif
Thanks for checking out my 3D art.
For more...
http://www.coldie3d.com

Check out my blockchain 3D lenticular art currently auctioning off for charity...
https://bitify.com/auctions/collectable-art/puertopia-3d-lenticular-illuminated-original-art-1056861/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39