Vector Owl With Affinity Designer

in #art6 years ago

I finished up this vector drawing last night and it turned out a lot better than I had planned. This was only my second drawing using Affinity Designer and, after this one, I'm really quite comfortable with the basic workflow. It takes a little different thought process than Adobe Illustrator, but I'm thinking it might be superior given that it's only Designer's first version; compared to Illustrator's who knows what - 30th version, maybe?

The idea for this graphic actually came from my sister, @angela.king06's sketch she posted the other day. I really liked it and couldn't resist trying my own version. It was only supposed to be a quick exercise for getting used to Designer a little more, but I took it a little farther, I guess.

Affinity Designer, as well as Affinity Photo, has personas that you use for different task. Designer has a Vector Persona, a Pixel Persona, and an Export Persona. They're pretty self explanatory, but the Pixel Persona brings this program to a whole new level compared to Illustrator. The ability to add pixel brush strokes in a mask inside you vector shape is absolutely amazing. I was able to add a bit of depth to all the feathers of this own very quickly and accurately using the pixel brush. This would have taken hours to do using vector shapes and gradient fills layered and masked over the original shapes. Instead it only took a few minutes to add all the depth I needed on the feathers and the trees.

Another great thing about this program is the ability to mirror and manipulate symbols together. Each shape around the eyes are symbols. I created one then mirrored it to the other side and didn't worry about the actual shape right away. Then, as I was building the face, I could tweak one side of the face and have it mirrored on the other side without worrying about it.

Anybody out there using Illustrator should really consider picking this program up. It's super cheap compared to Adobe's programs, just as powerful, and it's only a one time purchase. I've been watching a few teasers for the upcoming iPad version of Affinity Designer, too. I can't wait to pick that up as soon as it's available.

Sort:  

Wow!
Stunning, not just your, but your sisters too, 50 credit goes her for such an amazing drawing.
I'm using illustrator, you can see my work by visiting my blog :)
tHANKS :)

You are so creative...I always love getting your perspective on things.

I admit your hard work, it consumes a lot of energy, greetings from me @ramb for seniors @stephen,king

is it you drawing with digital drawing ?.
I am also a hobby of drawing, but I do not understand by drawing digitally.
is there a solution?

I might give this a try now that you bring it up. The one time purchase is very nice, as I can't afford to subscribe to 10 apps at once which is what seems to be the trend.

Cool art btw, very lively and intense

that is really fantastic! I love it....
upvoted...can you take a peak at Charlie Freaks posts and videos...they are fantastic and we are trying to get some views and votes...his work (and mine) are trying to wake up the masses and we need recognition in this big machine called Steemit....The changes in this world will come from the minnows and (Grassroots...such as your owl.......roots on the wise, as above so below....Samsara.... I love it! we can also maybe promote your work on our youtube and other social media...ok Have a fantasic day!! cheers

That looks like a really awesome program. This one is really detailed.

Good Job! Graphic design requires time and patience. Nice. Thanks for leaving your vote in my blog

Wow!
Great work, Your sisters have done a great job

This is r eally nice man, i dig the design of the hour-glass. the texture and overall shape gives it a more calming expression. Keep it up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 66992.58
ETH 3460.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.68