Steem Monsters Art Contest Submission - Cerberus

in #art6 years ago

It's been a pretty rainy day today here in Cape Breton. Yesterday was an awesome day with a full afternoon of sailing. Unfortunately, I didn't take a single picture. Next trip I'll be sure to correct that.

I saw the Steem Monster Art Contest post this morning and I thought I'd try my hand at drawing something Steem Monster related.

I chose the Cerberus but I added a little twist. If a three-headed dog wasn't scary enough. What about a 3-headed dog made up of three different types of K-9? I sure wouldn't want to run into one.

Here's my process for my take on this deadly monster.

First, download a reference of the card. Being able to look at this while I draw gives me an idea of the key features I should be adding into my sketch.

I found some reference photos online of 3 different snarling dogs and made a sketch with them all together in Procreate. Some oversized spike collars and a crazy looking tail and you've got a Steem Monster Cerberus.

Sketch.png

Next, paint it all in. I've got a few fur brushes downloaded now for Procreate. They make the painting process pretty easy now.

Dog done.png

Add some glow in in the background and a black backdrop for better effect.

Finished no photo.png

And a little bit of touch up with Affinity Photo to make it a little crisper and to enhance the shadows a bit, and it's done.

three headed dog.png

All in all, it was an enjoyable time making this. I may have to do another. Hopefully, these Steem Monster art contests will go on for a little while.

Sort:  

this is amazing work

Haha, nice work. I hope it makes it. The Rottie looks a lot like my dog, Raiden. I'm actually surprised I've never woken up to find him with an additional two heads

There's still time; anything can happen:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70