Procreate Dragon - Testing New FeaturessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

A doodle I did last night. Procreate came out with a new update so I had to test out some of the features.

426DE68A-E7FE-4D40-BB4B-0AE67405C43E.png

Clipping Masks

Clipping masks is going to be a real asset in future drawings on Procreate. I sort of take it for granted when using other programs, so to not have it on Procreate meant I had to get creative and find different ways to do things to get the same feature. Not an issue anymore.

Shape Creation

I like the new perfect shape creation too. Just make a rough shape and hold the pencil still for a second and the rough shape turns into a perfect one. This will be great for adding quick borders and layouts without the need for using a grid.

Liquify

I didn't get into the liquify features that were added besides a quick glance, but they seem pretty cool and I'll give them a good go later on.

Pressure Control?

And they've added some better pressure control for inking and sketching but I haven't really been able to figure that out yet. I like the sounds of it, but there doesn't seem to be any direction on what exactly was added. It says it was redisigned so maybe there is no seeable improvement, it's just all under the hood. Maybe I'll figure it out when I do the next drawing.

I can't believe it's been another 7 days since my last post. I'm really slacking in the steemit posting department lately. I've even missed two #rewards-pool draws that I've won but didn't get their vote because I didn't post anything. I almost feel guilty for that - but not really. Life is just busy lately and I can't find any time to draw or write so steemit goes on the back burner for a while sometimes.

Once the snow starts flying up here (which will be any time now) I'm sure I'll find more time to sit down by the fire and draw.

Sort:  

I can’t find this new features myself. I am using an iPad 2018 budget version, is this update just for the pro iPads??

Check the stroke tab on the individual tool settings. The new taper options are there.

The new stroke features aren’t a global setting, they’re individually done on each tool.


D50D468C-EAE4-4CF7-9A1A-E2D61EC28B45.jpeg


Look for them in each tools stroke tab. I still have to do a lot more playing to understand all the parameters.

But what's different in the screenshot from the previous version? I'm not entirely sure. Was 'Tip' not there before or something?

I had to find an old screenshot online, but I think pressure, tip, and the differentiation between pressure taper & touch taper are all new.


F33BE8B5-C438-4881-93E1-CC04C82A9C84.png


The biggest thing I think is that you’re basically altering the pressure curve/sensitivity of the stroke in & out now. Before, I don’t think pressure played any part. You were just setting an automated taper that made it a bit too mechanical and repetitive in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50