Practicing With Blender - Free Steemit Gif InsidesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

I was messing around with Blender a little bit yesterday. I haven't used the program for quite a few months since I got my graphic pen. Anyway, first I came up with this gif just to get back in the swing of things.

For any of you who haven't used Blender before, it can be a nightmare to try and find some of the little check boxes and menus to make changes to the way your 3d drawing will look. Using Blender involves a lot of asking google how to do specific tasks. And it's not that I can't do the task, it's that I can't find the little check box to make the task work and need to be pointed in the right direction a lot of the time. Especially since I haven't used the program in months.

So this first gif is nothing fancy. It took me a little over an hour to do from nothing to gif, including googling time to remember how to do certain things. The lighting is not great and the Steemit Logo should be a little less smooth but it is what it is. It's only a practice graphic to get myself warmed up to Blender again.

It's free for any Steemian who wants to use it.

click either image for full size

The second graphic turned out pretty nice. I was warmed up to the basics so I decided to practice a little bit with the reflections, lighting, and shadows.

I'd say this one is free to use too, but good luck getting my name out of there. I may go back in and add some more detail later. It could use more passes for the render to get rid of some more of the little dots, and maybe some texture on the upvote coins.

b14rlldlg

stephen-king989

SteemGig Commissions

Buy My Prints
Amazon Merch T-Shirts
RedBubble Merch

Sort:  

I've been wanting to get into this type of drawing. Would blender be a good start? I used to draw a lot in the past and have always been wanting to be able to create things suck as you have done. Great job!!

Blender is free so it's certainly a good place to start. The learning curve is quite steep, though. It's a powerful program that can do a lot when you get used to it. There are many tutorials on YouTube and around the internet to teach you everythinghing from the basics to advanced modelling.

Sweet thanks I am definitely goin to check it out. Looking forward to seeing more of your work

Hi @stephen.king989...I have been looking for a .gif to use in my
logo. You have said this was free for us to use; I would like to
Do so. I will try to remember to credit you, if you
Don't Mind me using it.
Thanks.

Don't worry about the credit, I'm just glad it someone finds it useful.

Neat, I never knew about this software. GIFs are the next frontier, they're way more attention grabbing than photos. I feel like still images may become less and less popular - in 2030, we'll have WAY more % of moving images vs. still images.

It's a very powerful program but the learning curve is quite steep. Good news is, it's free so it's easy to grab and start learning.

Congratulations @stephen.king989! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

that beautiful my beautiful friend I really love, a greeting @materialprivao

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73