Painting A Ferret For Someone On SimbisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Another painting for someone on Simbi.

syg85hrqjx

I'm really liking the way Simbi is allowing me to do paintings for other people. It's allowing me to take on the challenge of doing something I might not think of. Great for getting out of my element and trying to solve problems that I might not encounter while painting or drawing for myself.

I found a post from this guy and his wife who had a pet ferret that recently passed away. He was looking for someone to draw a caricature of the ferret for her. I replied, said I might be able to help, and gave him some examples of the animal drawings I have done in the past.

He ended really liking my painting of the German Shepard I did for @everlove's collaborative art journey. A little more work than a simple caricature, but certainly doable for him.

shepard-painting-final

So after getting some reference photo's of his ferret and a little discussion about what he was looking for, I did up a quick sketch. The original photo he provided was of the ferret in that similar pose but he was leaning against one of those trick-or-treat pumpkins made of plastic instead of a real one. His face was also not very clear so he sent me a picture of a close-up so I could get better detail.

bkxlc3ccox

I sent the sketch to him to make sure it was what he wanted and everything seemed okay. Originally he wanted the pumpkin to be carved. After I finished the sketch and sent it to him, I told him I didn't think it would look as good because it would always have that Halloween feel to it. If it was just an uncarved pumpkin, it would make a better, all around picture. He agreed and said his wife like fall pictures a lot so it was completely cool to have a regular pumpkin.

The next evening I started filling in the color.

b1u5ha9se
I ended up doing a little research for some better brushes to help me get the fur looking a little better. It turns out, the way I created the fur on the German Shepard was pretty darn close to what I needed to do, I just needed a better brush to get a more realistic fur effect. I found a number of free brushes that work for fur, hair, and grass. If I would have tried to make that grass with a regular brush I would have been at it for a week. But, with these new brushes, it was very easy and I'm glad I figured out how to do it.

The Finished Painting

syg85hrqjx

I did some extra detail on the pumpkin, the whiskers, shadows, and moved him down on the canvas a bit. Then I moved the file over to Adobe Lightroom and tweaked the levels a little and added the vignette around the edges to bring the focal point in a little.

I think it turned out pretty good for my third animal painting. Doing this got me thinking, though. There must be a place where I can get commissioned for drawing even if I am just an amateur. A quick google search and I found a nice site.

ArtistsnClients.com


This site allows you to put your services there, and people looking for drawings can commission you to draw for them.

I made two "slots" as they call them. One for animal portraits and the other for vector logo design. I have no hits yet after a few days, but you never know unless you put them up there. I have both prices set really low compared to other drawings of the same quality so I should get a hit, I would think, after a little while.

On top of that, I put a post on PeerHub too. So anyone that wants anything drawn up from steemit can certainly pay me in steem.


b14rlldlg

stephen-king989

25% off Wirex Debit Card
3% Discount on Genesis Mining Contracts - irIU4m
QuadrigaCX - Best way for Canadians to buy/sell Bitcoin
Grantcoin - Basic Cryptocurrency Income
Supload - Free Image Hosting That Earns You Bitcoin
Simbi - Your Money's No Good Here
Niume - Monetize Your Post's Long Term
Richmond Berks - 1.5% Daily Interest On Investment
BitZilla - 0.16% Hourly Interest On Investment

Sort:  

Hello @stephen.king989,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Another impressive work Stephen. I'm guessing you will be getting contacts from people based on the work so far. Nice going.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.84 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70