I Have A Copyright Infringement Claim Against Me - By A Scammer

in #art6 years ago

I did this little doodle this evening. Nothing outrageous but I like the concept and I might try and do a more detailed one sometime later. Maybe.

I made a quick speed painting video to go along with it, and I made up a quick little song for the video using GarageBand like I've done before. Maybe it took me 30 minutes to put this song together using some of the loops from GarageBand.

Paper Man.png

So I posted the video to YouTube. Within 30 seconds of the video being posted, I received an email from YouTube saying there was a copyright infringement claim against one of my videos. I clicked the link and it led me to my freshly posted video. That's crazy! There is no way, using only loops from GarageBand, I could have copied someone's music. And what sort of bot is this guy using to detect this so fast?

spacer.png

Here's my video. Pay attention to the main synthesizer riff at about 42 seconds in.

And just for shits and giggles, here's the song from the guy who's making the copyright claim.

The prominent riff in question is clearly identical..... because it's from GarageBand.

I put in a dispute through YouTube. I guess my dispute goes back to the claimant for them to decide if they want to remove the claim. That's pretty funny. And what makes it even funnier is that the only comment on this guys song is someone else accusing him of stealing the music from them.

image.png

I thought that was a bit of a coincidence so I checked out that user's site as well. From what I can tell, this other user is also making songs on GarageBand.

Why are all these people accusing others of stealing GarageBand loops?

spacer.png

I did a quick search to make sure they are royalty free loops and here's what I found and it's what I expected.

Using royalty-free loops in GarageBand with commercial work

Learn about the usage of royalty-free loops in GarageBand on commercial songs, multimedia presentations, videos, and animations.

The GarageBand software license agreement says:

"GarageBand Software. You may use the Apple and third party audio loop content (Audio Content), contained in or otherwise included with the Apple Software, on a royalty-free basis, to create your own original music compositions or audio projects. You may broadcast and/or distribute your own music compositions or audio projects that were created using the Audio Content, however, individual audio loops may not be commercially or otherwise distributed on a standalone basis, nor may they be repackaged in whole or in part as audio samples, sound effects or music beds."

So don't worry, you can make commercial music with GarageBand, you just can't distribute the loops as loops.

Published Date: Jan 18, 2017

spacer.png

Clearly, this is some scammer. Because he is the one who makes the claim against me, he gets any monetization from the views on YouTube (which will be $0). And it's him who decides to withdraw the claim. If I was getting money from someone else's video just for making a claim, I probably wouldn't drop the claim if I was a scammer. Why would he? That's not a very good system. There is no way that this hasn't happened before.

It's not like it matters to me very much. This was not one of my better drawings, and I maybe spent a total of 2 hours on the drawing, video, and music combined. I just find it funny that YouTube's policy is to allow them to claim any monetization just because they claim the song is theirs.

So what's everyone's thoughts on this? Is this a good policy for YouTube just to give the monetization to someone else? Should they be doing something different? What's funny is this guy is making this false claim, trying to get some monetization from me, and I'm going to at least get a few dollars off his video here on Steemit.

So who really has the last laugh? Should I post the link to this post on his song? Maybe.

Hope you all liked my little doodle.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56