Entelodont aka The Hell Pig - Drawing A Band LogosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)
b1s_gfn2g
I was asked to create a logo for someone's rock band. The name of the band is Hell Pig and I really enjoyed coming up with this logo. He explained that he wanted a cartoony type character as a mascot.







h1ofr5n2g

He also explained to me that a 'hell pig' is actually a nickname for an extinct animal called an Entelodont. Here is the description from Wikipedia;

Entelodonts - sometimes facetiously termed hell pigs or terminator pigs - are an extinct group of rather pig-like omnivorous mammals with bulky bodies, but short, slender legs, and long muzzles. The largest were the North American Daeodon shoshonensis, and the Eurasian Paraentelodon intermedium, standing up to 2.1 m (6.9 ft) tall at the shoulder, with brains the size of an orange.

It's a pretty badass looking pig.

2007-10-18f

The Process


Click the image for a larger size

rj7psf943g

Sketching


As always, it starts with a rough sketch. This serves multiple purposes. First, to save me a bunch of time when I have to draw the real lines; and second, to make sure that I'm actually drawing what the person wants. This is the only part I did in photoshop this time.

h1-vrzc4nx

Inking

I moved the sketch over to Adobe Illustrator and began inking in the lines. I'm really getting to like Illustrator a lot more lately and I find it's quite a powerful program. Like I said, if I were to try and draw this without sketching it out first, I would be here for hours trying to get things to look right.

r1vszqvng

Color


It took me a little while, but after watching a few videos about coloring in Illustrator on YouTube, I figured out a quick way to color everything in without destroying the line art in the process. In Illustrator, it wants you to convert all the lines to a shape before you can use the live paint feature. This makes coloring really fast but I always seem to run into problems further down the line when trying to touch up little sections as I go. After some experimenting, I figured out a semi-fast way to color, but am able to keep the ability to make line changes as I go.

Illustrator also allows you to change all of the colors around after you've colored it in. This is really a great feature because you don't have to worry about getting the colors right the first time. They just have to be different colors and you can mess around with exactly what you want later. This is also great if the person you are drawing for wants a different color on something. Let's say he didn't like the green shirt and wanted it to be orange. With this feature, it's not a problem. It only takes a few seconds to change multiple colors.

bkmwrz5v2g

Shading and Highlights

Shading is really easy and quick to do but it adds sooooo much depth to a drawing. You can get really carried away if you're not careful, though, so it's best to take it sort of light.




The Text


I searched around for a good font and found one that looked cool but was clear enough to make a nice title. I use Urban Fonts to get what I need. They have a bunch of free fonts in many different categories to choose from. I initially sent the text with flames in it but was asked to take them out. I now agree they shouldn't be there after looking at it for a while. It was a bit of a learning curve to get the flames inside the text like that, but at least I now know how to do it.

sjxwbm5v2l

b1s_gfn2g


The only real correction I need to do was give him the text in a slightly different layout. He tried to put it on his SoundCloud page and it didn't work out too well the first time. The SoundCloud banner is really skinny and long and it crops the photo really bad when you upload it. I just had to go back and rearrange the text so it would show up correctly on his page.

sknwsm54hl


Thanks For Checking This Out




Give his band a listen



Commissioning


If any of my fellow steemians need anything special done up for their blog, I would be happy to draw something up for you. Whether it be an avatar, follow banner, signature picture, something special for a specific post, painting of your dog/cat/other pet, or whatever. Let me know what you need and we can work something out.

Right now I have commissions posted on these three websites;

Deviant Art

Arts and Clients

PeerHub

And, as a Steemit Special:


If you want to pay in steem, I'll knock 50% off the prices I have listed on the sites.


b14rlldlg

stephen-king989

25% off Wirex Debit Card
3% Discount on Genesis Mining Contracts - irIU4m
QuadrigaCX - Best way for Canadians to buy/sell Bitcoin
Grantcoin - Basic Cryptocurrency Income
Supload - Free Image Hosting That Earns You Bitcoin
Simbi - Your Money's No Good Here
Niume - Monetize Your Post's Long Term
Richmond Berks - 1.5% Daily Interest On Investment
BitZilla - 0.16% Hourly Interest On Investment
Commisioned Drawings At PeerHub - Pay With Steem

Sort:  

Hello @stephen.king989,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thats great work. nicely done. I am running a logo contest for 200 steem if you are down. https://steemit.com/contest/@soundlegion/sound-legion-logo-contest-enter-to-win-200-steem-entries-so-far
Listened to the song as well very cool music, check out one of my latest releases in similar vibe think you will like it.
just did a write up on the producer on my page. huge ups to you and thanks for sharing your work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50