Digital Portrait Practice - My SonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

I did my first digital painting of a face the other day.

I want to eventually do a really nice portrait painting of my son and get it printed and framed, but I'm going to need some practice first. This was my first attempt and it didn't turn out bad at all. It only took me about 2 hours but, it did make me realize I need to find some good hair brushes for photoshop before I try the next one.

rkt1txs9g

I always feel that there is more detail that could be added. Since this is just practice for a future one, I thought it was best to just go in and do it as fast as I could. I'll probably do 4 or 5 more before I'm ready to tackle the final painting. This will give me quite a few hours to get a feel for all the areas I need improving on.
landon-smile

Here is the reference photo. I'll put it out there that I traced over this image to make the sketch. This was purely done to practice the painting side of it, so I didn't waste my time trying to sketch the face out from scratch. When I do the final portrait, I'll definitely draw the whole thing and make a time lapse video of my process.


b14rlldlg

stephen-king989

25% off Wirex Debit Card
3% Discount on Genesis Mining Contracts - irIU4m
QuadrigaCX - Best way for Canadians to buy/sell Bitcoin
Grantcoin - Basic Cryptocurrency Income
Supload - Free Image Hosting That Earns You Bitcoin
Simbi - Your Money's No Good Here
Niume - Monetize Your Post's Long Term
Richmond Berks - 1.5% Daily Interest On Investment
BitZilla - 0.16% Hourly Interest On Investment

Sort:  

Hello @stephen.king989,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

How does one achieve a digital portrait? Do you use the digital sketch pad?

Sure do. It allows for pen pressure in programs like Photoshop. It really brings out the full potential of the drawing programs. They are pretty cheap now too. You can get a half decent one on amazon for less than $100.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75