Michelangelo at the MET

in #art7 years ago

On Saturday, I decided to go to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. This museum is located at a cross section of the fifth avenue and the 82nd street in Central Park. It opened its doorst to the public in 1880 and since then it presents over thousand of years of art spanning all cultures and time periods.


Source: https://www.nyc-arts.org/organizations/4/metropolitan-museum-of-art

Recently, I learned that there is a Michelangelo exhibition at the MET. When I went there, I saw that the line is reaching to the next block. Using the advantage of being a member, I skip the line and got my express ticket! If you become a member here is the link:

https://www.metmuseum.org/join-and-give/membership

This exhibition presents a stunning range and number of works by the artist: 133 of his drawings, three of his marble sculptures, his earliest painting, his wood architectural model for a chapel vault, as well as a substantial body of complementary works by other artists for comparison and context.

It was extremely satisfying to see the artist's hand drawings and his studies before the actual paintings had been done. Here is a collection of pictures I have taken during my visit.

michel1.JPG

Of course, I also went to see the self-portrait painted by Rembrandt

rembrandt1.JPG

And, another favorite of mine: The portrait of a young woman painted by the Dutch artist Johannes Vermeer

Vermeer.JPG

I also went to MOMA this weekend but I guess I will talk about it in my next post!

Have a great weekend...

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

You got a 21.92% upvote as a Recovery Shot from @isotonic, currently working as a funding tool, courtesy of @steinhammer!

  • Image from pngtree.com

@isotonic is the Bid Bot of the @runningproject community.
Earnings obtained by this bot, after paying to the delegators, are fully used to increase the SP of the @runningproject from which all affiliated members are benefited.
Check @runningproject posts in order to know further about.

the pictures are so incredible - his work is admirable :)

thanks, I checked some of yours. They look great :)

Congratulations @steinhammer! You have received a vote as part of @steinhammer donation to this project.
I will be able to help more #minnows

You got a 1.01% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @steinhammer!

You got a 1.00% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @steinhammer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39