You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [ART ANALYSIS] The Lost Jockey (1948) by René Magritte

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the comment!
Yes, perhaps it's even somewhat of a vanitas image; maybe he's vainly attempting to escape death - death which is represented by the desolate landscape? I think it has something to do with alienation and being misplaced / out of context also. There are many ways of looking at it :) Rothko is one of my favorite artists btw, I might do a piece on him.

Sort:  

Ah yes of course, running away from death would make perfect sense. Well spotted. Oh yes please do one on Rothko I would look forward to that with glee. It is a long time since I have so much enjoyed reading an analysis of an art work and I mean that sincerely. I love art history and have read many books on the subject but many writers tend to be somewhat over clinical forgetting to mention the feeling. You have a writing style there that is rather appealing regards to this as well as thought provoking and educational. You have a gift there and one I feel is perhaps missing from the art world at the moment. Everyone has become so focused on the value of art, the high prices I mean, that they have almost lost touch with the gift that art is in our lives, if you get my meaning? So glad I have discovered you by joining this platform. Look forward to your next post and thanks for the reply!

Thank you so much for your kind words, it means a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48