🎨 Reproducing Renoir - A Study of Greyscale Impressionism - Throwback Thursday 1995

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Last month I posted my Escher project from back in my years at The Art Institute where we were tasked with many challenges to recreate works of art from historic masters, using their techniques, but modifying the final in some way to make it our own. The goal was to learn about the techniques used by the master artisans of the time.

For this project we had several tasks to accomplish in one piece. The main focus was on recreating color works in a limited Greyscale paint palette. The secondary task was to choose a past work from the Impressionism art movement of the 19th century, however we had to paint in solid blocks - no brush strokes or blending. We could choose from artists like Monet, Pissarro, Morisot, and Renoir. The biggest challenge to me was the medium, paint. I'm not a painter and have always struggled with it.

I chose to recreate Dance at Le Moulin de la Galette by Pierre-Auguste Renoir painted in 1875.

Greyscale-Renoir-2-steempowerpics.jpg
My finished work painted in 1995

Greyscale-Renoir-1-steempowerpics.jpg
My finish painting is 12"x8" on a 20"x15" Art Board

This project took 2 days to complete. I lightly sketched in the the drawing with pencil on the first day, then painted it on the second day. The art board was white back in the day, time does its thing.

Greyscale-Renoir-3-steempowerpics.jpg
Close up to show the details.

Greyscale-Renoir-4-steempowerpics.jpg
We were allowed the background white, and 5 shades to black.

Auguste-Renoir-Dance-at-Le-Moulin-de-la-Galette-1875.jpg
The original work by Pierre-Auguste Renoir used as my example.

Just as with my Escher recreation, this painting was hung up in one of the central wall achievement galleries on floor 3 (graphic design floor) for the semester after being reviewed by a few instructors. It was definitely not the best in the class, I was 5th in the lineup with fellow students who were really good at painting, so it was nice to have the recognition along side of them.



Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

This is absolutely amazing @steempowerpics , I really like the minimalist appearance even though you can tell it really is very complex. Also, it looks like you've been painting for years so you've done a very good job considering that's not your forte.

Thank you - I'm happy you like it. It was not an easy assignment for me, but it came out nice. I appreciate the kind review. :-)

Anytime! I do art too if you ever want to have a look!

I sent you a reply on one of your posts. :-)

Fantastic job. I'm always amazed at how good artists can make black/white come to life.

Thank you very much.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SteemPowerPics from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Great work steempowerpics! Keep it up and best wishes from @kenentertainment!

A pleasant post. @steempowerpics followedd

This post has received a 16.61 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @steempowerpics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87