Dragon sketch in ink

in #art7 years ago

bmd_thumbnail-frameink dragon.png

This sketch is one had I had fun with and turned out better than I thought it would. No pencils just straight to ink and hope for the best! I find just sketching in ink is a good exercise because of the permanence of it. You cant erase you cant edit it with digital tools or resize so it helps me sort of overcome some "fears" of drawing. I tend to try and practice things I don't like or don't use often to try and expand my skills by getting out of the comfort zone.

ink dragon1.jpg

steemit adventure logo.jpg

More art below!
Comic panel

Sort:  

I love drawing in ink for the same reason - it's liberating to just draw, knowing you can't erase your marks. You have to embrace your mistakes and just move on.

Plus I hate drawing in pencil - I love the bold look of ink too much.

Simply stunning like always, Do you draw things like this in the single day or about how much time goes into something like this?

I do draw pretty much every day of some sort or another, I art as a day job. This one is prolly 2 hours give or take. I have been working on loosening up my style and not "worrying" so much, speed in the commercial art world is an important attribute :) Glad you liked it!

Great skills... Just love the raw lines structure that gives a lot of detail at the same time. Think you nailed it.
Definitely curious for more so I'm following now.

Warm regard and till next post.

Thank you for taking the time to check out my post I appreciate it. Yea I went pretty crazy with the line work and it sort of surprised me that the finished thing turned out decent. Sometimes when I just go crazy with the lines it turns into a big sloppy mess lol

Have not seen you comment before in my posts so will check out your blog to see what you got going on!

Just love very direct and honest drawings - big sloppy messy or not ;0)
Really hope to see more of this...

Would love to hear what you think of my work when you checking my blog...

Actually nice to meet you and sure we keep in touch

It's always great when things turn out right the first time, especially when you need them to XD That's one angry looking beastie, what annoyed it?

goatsig

I agree! its like a pleasant relief lol lots of sketches like this hit junk pile cause they turn out weak, at least for me they do :)

What kind of pens do you use for ink sketching? if you don't mind me asking that is :)

Also, really like the dragon you've sketched! Reminds me of some of the dragons from Skyrim.

This was just some cheap micro type pen and a black marker for darker areas. For "proper" inking it used to be crow quill and india ink. For inking really good you have to stay with it and do it all the time because its sort of like a muscle memory line control type thing.

really super & mind touch art like it

I like your all content because your content type and quality is so good

On the risk of sounds repetitive.. As impressive as always :D

nice stroke..and the dragon design is top notch..i will follow u @steemitadventure ,do check my art..still new in stemit :)

Working in ink like this is an exercise in courage! I'm so used to everything digital. I'm not sure what I would do without that handy ctrl^z at the ready.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61272.24
ETH 3371.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46