Cryptoart and a SMT question....that was answered quickly from @ned on twitter!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

cards2.jpg

For awhile now I have known about cryptoart and have pondered the concept and seen it grow. I have thought about releasing a few different versions of things one of which being my Steemit Trading cards.

To ask the question first to anyone who may know, like @ned @steemitblog @steemitdev or anyone else. The short version is would something like rare pepes on counterparty be possible with SMT ? If you are unfamiliar with the concept please try this link or the others in this post which cover different aspects and perspectives of "cryptoart". It is basically making a digital trading card that is linked to the blockchain and "provably rare".

I had posted a few days back this article that talked about the upcoming rare digital arts festival, in which a single piece was sold for over $39k. An article covering the event can be found here and one other article I have found with some further thoughts on cryptoart can be found here.

If anyone has an answer to if something like this would be possible on SMT I would really appreciate the info or if you might know someone who does. I would love to launch my trading cards and other projects with an SMT instead of going to another platform/crypto.

Check out some of the links if you just want to get some knowledge about the topic because I think it opens up some incredible concepts and we already see game versions being released with Etheremon and cryptokitties so I think there are many possibilities that have yet to be explored.

Edit- I posted this question on twitter and @ned answered it in about a minute! so that was great and the answer was yes!

Sort:  

Yes! You can do trading cards with scarcity. Simply issue tokens with limited supply limited divisibilty. Eg 1 Token with no divisibility, and viola a system for crypto kitties or rare pepes. Keep in mind an interface that sorts and displays these cards may be important in making them valuable too.

Thanks and I had read up some on the "interface" concept that some others were using but from what I understand that is something within reason that a good programmer could achieve. I will try to find one on steemit who may want a paid gig to get this done :)

I'm the programmer developing BlockPress, and web interface stuff is right up my alley. Might be interested in developing a blockpress module for SMT based collectables if the price is right?

Do you happen to be on Steemit Chat or discord ?

My id on both is the same as here.

I will send you a message on steemit chat to sort of talk some things through! looking forward to it.

I look forward to our discussion also. I am in a GMT+0 timezone and busy during the day but if you don't mind waiting for responses we don't have to be online at the same time necessarilly.

Yes and yes, although I can't be online on either tonight.

This is great news!
I'm actually a big fan of the digital collectables genre.... it's a fascinating concept and really drives home the whole supply and demand thing... truly you're paying for something that has no value, except the value that you and a buyer or seller assigns to it.

I think I'd also love my own trading card, I just need to save up some SBD for you.

Would be awesome to have you get one! trying to get more done so its worth while to get some printed and then get them into digital collectible format :)

Actually I got too excited and sold some LTC to buy $10 SBD. I'm all good to go!
What do you need from me?

I've messaged you on Steemit.chat

HA! good timing though because I have one in front of you then yours and i will be working on them in next couple days. I will message you tomorrow in chat, if you have a picture you want to use just send it in there and I will look it over, as long as its a decent view of your face I should be able to work with it. Only other things I will need is about an 8 word quote and what image you would want in the top right.

Thanks for wanting one and I will message you tomorrow in chat!

Awesome!!
I'm super super super super super excited!

Awesome! I'm in! I'll start collecting my SBD for you now... c'mon post payouts!

I don't know too much about the art space, as I am not an overly gifted artist myself, but I do think there is a niche for it here on the block chain. You do have quite the talent for it though, so perhaps you could lead the movement into the space.

Are you still making these crypto cards for steemit users? If so, how much would it cost to get one made? They are AWESOME!!

Thanks and yes I am right now I could do it for 10 sbd. Its perfect time and if you wanted one I could have it out in the next 10 days.

Pricey, but the quality looks great, and good things are expensive haha. Let's do it. What does the purchase include exactly? Photo and a quote?

Sounds like a plan! Yes I would need a quote, something around 8 words or so. I pic I can use as reference that has decent lighting etc, and what image you would want in the top right of card. Are you on steemit chat by chance because you can just send the pic to me through there if you would like in a direct message.

I will give you the digital art with and without frame so you can use it for posts/ avatar/whatever you like.

Eventually if/when in some form these go to print or be on blockchain I will set a couple of your cards aside for you. I also plan to create some backs to these cards so they can have stats etc.

Okay perfect. I'm in. Where is the best place to reach you? here is my discord link
miami (jasonshick)#4887

I agree! Nice work!

unfornatly I cant help you with your question but I wish you all the success in the world.

totally cool to think I might end up as a character in a game.

This will be pretty cool. If you do it I'm gonna have to make sure I own my trading card 😁😁

Dayumn your own trading card!! Nice!

Yep I've been here for a minute!!!

Well....hot dayumn....first you trend, now you have a trading card...next time you come over you're signing some autographs.

😂😂😂

I'm in, when can I mine them?

You wont be able to mine them. they will be created like a token is on ethereum! its actually super cool there is a white paper/blue paper for the tokens I will try to find it later and pass it along to you.

Cool. Cool. 👍

Nice work! Now dont hold out on us, share your rares! 🐸 🐸 🐸

The rarest of them all, the @papa-pepper Marvel Series II shall exist!

I was listening to a pod cast this morning which was talking about a new asset class emerging, crypto collectables. This is a great idea with the cards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30