You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Witch, Whore, Saint?" - based on the true story of the short life of Agnes B.

in #art7 years ago

Oh, you've been busy posting beautiful art! I was away and missed it the last couple of days… Catching up now.

This image captures the theme that lately fascinates me. The entirety of a woman. The conflict between being perceived as the "Witch, Whore, Saint" or " virgin, mother, lover." In my opinion most women have all of pieces… that's what makes up our wholeness. But society, and often even ourselves, really resists that and tries to compartmentalize or block off parts of the whole self. As was the case for poor Agnes ...

Stunning as always Reinhard. 🙌🏽🙏🏽

Sort:  

We were only away today for a trip down to Austria on the Rocket, but I don't think I'll ever catch up with everything I'm so behind with already...

Agree completely with what you say about wholeness and forces holding down one aspect or another. I have lived in very different environments and particularly living on another continent has been a big eye opening experience on what restrictions different "societies"... or groups of people put on a person. And how individuals respond to the pressure from outside with even more pressure from within in order to comply (is that the right word?)

Agnes has accompanied me for the most part of my professional life and she still fascinates me today.

Remember the museum I wrote about and my Temple of the secrets? The building was built during the lifetime of Agnes Bernauer (!)

Comply is exactly the right word.

Fascinating that the museum in which you worked was built during her lifetime. She is like a muse for you then? Haunting and inspiring you, demanding her story be told and her essence be expressed.

Yes, it seems there is some kind of metaphysical relationship..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36