Adya Redmane and the Breath of the Firebird

in #art5 years ago

I like katanas, not as weapons (I much prefer sabres), but as works of art, and I occasionally come across one that I simply cannot stop examining. I took inspiration from several unusual ones that I've found, including one that had blade inlays, one that had an unusual guard, and one whose Ito was wrapped in an unconventional manner, and I produced this:
Breath of the Firebird 1.PNG
Breath of the Firebird 2.PNG

Breath of the Firebird is a prop within my fantasy world, a weapon wielded by the chuyinka Adya Redmane. He is one of the POV characters in The Nine Empires, and betrothed to Kaia Blackwing, who wields Revenge of the Waterflower. Chuyinka are known for giving their weapons long and frequently enigmatic names.

Here is a close-up, showing the habaki marked with Adya's name glyph:
Breath of the Firebird detail 1.PNG
I think that glyph may be on backwards... oh well. At least it can't be upside down, since it's a rotational ambigram.

Here is a close-up of the tip, showing what is meant to be a copper inlay:
Breath of the Firebird detail 2.PNG

The outside of the scabbard (it isn't an actual saya, as there are functional differences, just as that guard is not a tsuba) is supposed to be clad in copper, brass, and even gold. I will probably change the colours and maybe re-draw this entire decoration to get it to look better:
Breath of the Firebird detail 3.PNG

I also drew up Adya himself. Yes, he looks much more feminine than even my own character. Chuyinka are birds, technically, so the males tend to be the pretty ones (think of peafowl or rose-breasted grosbeaks):
Адя 3.PNG

By the way, I've FINALLY met someone on BitChute who recognises this art style, and he didn't exactly give me positive feedback. However, since I'm probably going to start making 3D versions of all my characters in Blender long before I ever get around to developing my own 2D art style, I guess I'll just have to put up with it:
Kaja and Adya chaos meme 1.png

Shameless self-promotion:

Shapeways:
https://www.shapeways.com/designer/steampunkkaja

WordPress:
https://kjworldsong.wordpress.com/

BitChute:
https://www.bitchute.com/channel/hyLVDAKeGZC9/

SubscribeStar:
https://www.subscribestar.com/kaja-blackwing

Sort:  

Well, I've already made one major change to this design, with forward and backward swept quillons in the shape of the bird's head, such that the bird is upright and facing forward both when the sword is being worn, and when it is being wielded. The wings now form a cloverleaf-shaped disc-type guard:
Breath of the Firebird 3.PNG
Breath of the Firebird 1.PNG
The old version is on the bottom for comparison. Which do you like better?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66