Jealousy

in #art6 years ago

Here's another painting I just did for myself, a bit more ambitious than usual, basically just spending a lot of time on the details, especially the environment, which I don't usually do.

The story behind I kind of made up after I had the initial idea, that happens with me a lot (the visual comes first). Two fairy sisters, the younger jealous of the older, who became Queen and married the handsome goblin prince... this could actually be the redhead Fairy Queen I painted on the swing, another painting you can see in my blog if you scroll a bit further down.

jealousy8.jpg

Here are some of the steps. First a scanned sketch, which originally was quite small.

jealousy.jpg

Then I painted on that in Photoshop, into a grey-scale version

jealousy2.jpg

Then I colorized that

jealousy4.jpg

And finally painted with more opaque paints on top.

jealousy5.jpg

jealousy8.jpg

In case you're wondering why I keep tagging TeamMalaysia, this one was painted in Kuala Lumpur :)
I hope you like it, thank you, have a great day!

Sort:  

Beautiful work @stahlberg
This reminds me of artwork by artists I used to follow on Deviantart!
Thank you for sharing.
Upvoted and following

See? This only confirms fairies are evil! Violent! 🤭

Great masterpiece!

Salute!... (bending my knee)... Please! teach me, master...
Great to see the process on your blog...
Upvoted and resteemed...

(Yes I'm going far back into your archives because your work is entrancing.)

I've come across this image before on some art or imageboard. I think I even saved it somewhere, because it gave me the inspiration for a story.

It's so cool to discover you're the artist, and to meet you on Steemit!

Thank you! it's rare to meet someone here on Steemit that has seen my work before... and even remembers it. Nice to meet you. :)

Hi, Steven! I followed you for years and thanks to you i am now joined Steem ;) I like raw scanned version more, this doesn't mean colored version is bad, i like it! Good work!

Totally breathtaking @stahlberg. I particularly like how you play around with the shadows and the light on the skin of the young jealous fairy. Upvoted!

Much skill sir! ... nice

I agree, great work ... wish I could draw like that

The dark spots on the left leg. What's that mean?

I was thinking she crawled in through the window after climbing the wall, or something like that... so yeah it's meant to be dirt :)

Wow man! It looks great. I wish I could make art like that.

you must meet us the next time you are in Malaysia


credit to @zomagic

I'm here now, I live in KL! In Bangsar South, Pantai Panorama :)

Wow we shld meet up...how do i contact u?

I found you on discord

Awesome! Come join our upcoming #teammalaysia gathering this Saturday if you are available

Thanks! :)

Great! Have you signed up yet? If not, here is the registration form

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85