The Creation of An Adult Coloring Book with a difference. (WARNING: Very rude words)

in #art8 years ago (edited)

The Creation of An Adult Coloring Book with a difference. 

Have you seen some of the sweary word books available now on Amazon? So many of them have either cutesy images or stock images. Where is the art? Where is the style? This was the very first thing that motivated me into doing a swear word book. I originally didn't want to. I'd already published three coloring books for adults and my fan base was made up of people who really wouldn't appreciate that sort of language. 

But. Ya know. I swear like a trooper. And I love experimenting with type in my artwork. It seemed like a natural progression. Sorry mum. 

I didn't wanna just do another book with single rude words. I preferred phrases. I also wanted to give it a British angle. So. I got drunk one evening. And proceeded to come up with as many creative insults as I could. The name was born: Creative Insults. 

I have always hand drawn my artwork. I work in my 9 - 5 job on a computer so actually using a pen and paper is an escape for me. I draw on train platforms, in parks, on beaches. I always have my sketchpad with me. 

I decided I wanted this book to have a retro feel - I tried to make some of the pages look like vintage circus posters. This way there would be more for people to color. Chopping up different typefaces together can be hard - sometimes it works, sometimes it looks a mess. The trick was to compliment the types with interesting backgrounds. 

The book is selling well on Amazon right now. It's popular with some, others say it's too hard to color. I don't mind that. You can't please everyone. I'll probably do another sweary coloring book at some point. I'll just have to get drunk again and think up some more phrases. 

Thanks for reading my first post. I hope to do more about my art. If you wanna see the book on Amazon,  you can see it here.

Steve Squidoodle Turner

x

Sort:  

hehehehe just looking at it made me giggle.
My boss used to swear like the first image all the time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56087.39
ETH 2965.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15