The Creation of a Colored Orca Drawing. A Complete Step by Step Guide.

in #art8 years ago

The Creation of a Colored Orca Drawing. A Complete Step by Step Guide. 

Hi everyone. Today I'm gonna show you how I created a colorful Orca drawing. I took photographs throughout the whole process so I could show you exactly how I did it. I really hope you enjoy this article. 

Here is the finished piece:

So first of all, I sketched out a simple orca on white paper.

I used some stock images for reference, but created my own styled outline. Next up - cut the little sucker out.

Be nice and careful here people - ask a grown up if you're not allowed to use scissors. I am 39. I can be trusted with scissors. And guns.
Next up..... the pad I'm gonna use. I've always been a fan of Strathmore pads - and their Toned Tan pads are literally TO DIE FOR. They're so gorgeous to use white and colour to give you some contrast.

I took my cut out orca, and fixed it to the page using a couple of tiny pieces of blu-tac. Pretty sure this isn't the best way, but it's all I had to hand.

Here comes the fun bit. I had a couple of old ink pads kicking around and this is the first time I'd used them. It's permanent, so I knew it wouldn't come off after it had dried. I tested a patch on an old page, ripped up an old washing-up sponge and applied it sparingly - it goes a long way.

You gotta be super dooper careful here that you don't accidentally pull up the edges of the orca and smudge underneath. So keep it blotting from above, not wiping from the side.
So once you've blotted all around the Orca, you're left with a cool cut out like this:

Time to add some detail. I used a 0.5 nibbed UniPin pen.

Just a few details - nothing too fancy. Now to add some color. I use two kinds of colored pencils - Prismacolor and Berol Karismacolor. Prismacolors are good, but I LOVE Karismacolor - unfortunately they don't make them anymore so I have to be sparing. They're so waxy - blending them is so easy.

I decided to go with purples and pinks, with some Posca white ink for bubbles around the edge. The purple blended in nicely with the pink, aided by some white and a tiny bit of blue.
So here's the finished piece:

I really hope you enjoyed this. Please upvote, reply or resteem. Thanks for reading!
To check out more of my artwork or get in touch with me, visit my facebook page here. 

Steve Squidoodle Turner
xxx

Sort:  

It's like a really sweet pic for me!

Thank you so much!

great artwork,
but i think it isn't an orca, to me it looks more like a blue whale, doesen't it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55