Using Islamic patterns to make spherical art

in #art6 years ago (edited)

8-20-17a.jpg

I've been fascinated with Islamic architectural patterns since I first saw them. I like how the angles repeat and connect. Following the those angles around with your eyes can put you into a meditative state, which might be why they are most often found in mosques.
Here's an example:cordoba-182842_960_720.jpg

I thought it might be fruitful to combine their geometry with that of the polyhedrons I use to make spherical art. The way I went about it was to break down the patterns to their smallest repeating components that would fit into a hexagon or a pentagon.
Here are three examples that I created after studying patterns I found online:
IslamicPatterns.jpg

Then I mapped the patterns onto each of the facets of a hexagon sphere model in my 3D program..
IslamPatternBall.jpg

Once they were applied to the sphere, I changed their mode to stencil. This made all the white space around the patterns transparent. Then I place a camera inside the sphere, looking out, and experimented with different lenses. Here are three examples:
islam5.jpg

The following images were made this way and colored in Photoshop:

2-28-18.jpg

8-24-17.jpg

8-16-17-2.jpg

8-16-17.jpg

This art was previously posted by me on Twitter and Instagram. Here are links to my accounts:
Twitter: http://twitter.com/spherical_art
Instagram: http://instagram.com/sphericalart

<<previous post ------------------------------------ next post>>

Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Thank you! It remains about 7-10 days

Thank you livvu! I like your dream catcher tatoo. Yes the three elements work together. How long does the henna remain visible?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58954.91
ETH 2508.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45