Glass Paperweights | Jenny's Art Contest Week #4

in #art7 years ago (edited)

These three glass paper weights are meant to encapsulate the movement and freedom of dreams. These three pieces together share a common theme of color but stand alone uniquely with their varying shape and pattern. The one of the left uses a swirl of orange color to hide the inner structure of blue, much the way dreams obscure their structure with strangeness. The piece in the middle has a structured blue thread of color around a swirling orange core, signifying how a common thread may seem to tie a string of dreams together. The piece on the right is pure chaos. While most dreams are structured, there are no rules in dreams and no limitations, save the dreamer's imagination.

paperweights 2.jpg

Please up vote and follow if you enjoy my work!
Thanks for reading!

If you'd like to purchase some of my work please check out my Etsy page:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/SteveChadwickGlass?ref=profile_shopicon

This post is an entry in Jenny's art contest. If you want to help me win please go to the original post and give me an upvote in the comments. Thanks so much! Here the link to the contest post: https://steemit.com/artcontest/@topkpop/jenny-s-art-contest-week-4-and-winners-announced-from-last-week

Sort:  

Nice stuff man, keep posting your work i start to do the same

Thank you! Btw I love your icon picture, is that rick trying to blow glass?

beautiful work.. That orange color seems like the glass was still hot. THe one in the middle is the most beautiful for me.. Love the structure of that blue strip. That pattern is not spirral.. How did you made it? :)

Thanks so much! The last one without any spiral patterns was made by elongating the piece a lot and then wrapping it around itself somewhat chaotically, it actually almost fell off the pipe in the process. I definitely had a lot of fun with these!

Also I saw on your blog you're a glass designer, thats awesome! In what way do you work with glass?

I studied glass design, Ive learned to grind, sandblast, engrave and paint and a little bit of blowing.. I would like to work with it more, but now I just do sandblasting sometimes... I work as a teacher and sometimes I miss the glass work :) I really loved grinding my own designs.. now I do more fine art...

That's awesome! Glass is definitely addictive but can be difficult to make a full time career. I'd love to see some of your work, is any on your blog?

youre right :) yes, here they are: https://www.facebook.com/pg/martinabulkovaart/photos/?tab=album&album_id=1164830196971852

and also my final work at school: https://www.facebook.com/pg/martinabulkovaart/photos/?tab=album&album_id=1164836416971230

I didnt blow those pieces, unfortunately, but cutting, grindding, painting and everything else including design is my work..

Wow, your work is amazing! I would love to be able to cold work like that! I'd definitely up vote all your work if it was on Steemit. It's also great to hear from other glass artist

thanks so much :)

such a beauty:)

wow. I like them lol. thanks for sharing. followed yr blog

Thanks so much! followed back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86