Truth is a work in progress, truth is an end in itself. Post updated.

in #art7 years ago

rosetruth_detail.jpg

Well, by the time I finally got round to this post yesterday, it was too late to do it properly. So I have come back now to try and make a post with more sense.
These are the current desktop painting works.
I mean it is the project that sits on my drawing table, where the computer is.
I usually have at least one other main project going on. At the moment it's a sewing one.

Sometimes it's some acrylic painting.
But not at the heights of summer, as now, nor in the depths of winter, for the reason that acrylic paint doesn't behave properly at those times. Dries out too fast in summer, and doesn't form a film properly when the temps go below 9º centigrade. (48.2 ºf according to google) but that's not the post today.

Of course sewing in the middle of summer has its own drawbacks. But I'll deal with that in the other post I hope to write now.

Back to the work at hand.
I have been working on this series now for a few weeks. They were originally just monochrome paintings, simple.

I hope to do one for every different watercolour paint that I own. It's a big project.
But then I decided that they were going to also have unpainted text.

So it's turned into a monster project.

Well, unpainted negative space, leaving painted texts.
I was working on these when I first heard of Steemit. As as probably happened to most of you, I found the whole learning curve pretty insane and that hasn't slowed down.
So there are only three finished so far. Shame.

rosetruth_small.jpg

The above is the whole sheet that I took the detail in the first image from.
The watercolour is Sennelier l'Aquarelle, colour Opera Rose, which I got in a sample pack. I assume the pigment is actually Quinacridone as that's what it behaves like. I have the colour chart somewhere, so the non-lazy bicho would go look for it.
(well, non-lazy bicho just tried to find it, but without immediate success. I might try the internet.

Well according to the Sennalier colour chart, it's fluo and PR (Pigment Red) 81:1, which in turn, according to this website The Colour of Art, pigment database, is Rhodamine 6G (Fiat). I have no idea what the fiat means there. the chemical is called Silicotungsto-molybdic acid salt of Rhodamine; CAS 12224-98-8.
According to both this website and the Sennalier Colour chart, it's got very poor light-fastness. Needs to be kept in low light display or safely tucked away in a folder somewhere.

:)

The next images are both from a tube of paint I have had since I was a wee lad. It's from the Japanese brand Sakura, and I think I got it in a pack of which most are gone. I only have a couple of tubes of this stuff left. Very old, hardened in the tubes, and oxidised to a certain extent too. Claims to be Vermillon, which is a mercury compound. Mercuric sulphide. Also known as Cinnabar

I don't know if it is really genuine vermillon, but it probably is. Seems to be very similar to the description, on the same page. The tube has no pigment number, so have to leave it at that.
Very difficult to remove, as you can see. Very staining, and very lightfast.

vermilontruth_small.jpg

I have also decided to employ painted negative spaces on the curves paintings. So similar process, but reversed. sortof.

Easiest just to look at the image.

vermilon_faith_small_inv.jpg

OH, That's the hellfire version. (just a simple negative or inverted image. This is the original colours as follows.

vermilon_faith_small.jpg

So, sorry to post in rush yesterday, but hopefully you won't be bored by having the same images with my new post.

If you like my work, please follow and up-vote. We will have to make a minnow mutual aid society.
gotta go
big hugs

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by r0nd0n from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks for all the votes fellow minnows. Great work. I will take hours just to find you all and follow, but that's what we are here for

Congratulations @spaingaroo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39