Amp Modification || Custom Circuit Board and Wood Burning (DIY)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

The Goal...

Turn my old amp into a work of art. For all the years I've been performing, I've always had my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe as a reliable workhorse (well, mostly reliable). This year, though, I wanted an upgrade.

Instead of spending +$1000 for a new amp, an expense that crushes my ability to save money, I harnessed my local community to create a beautiful piece our of my worn out Hot Rod.

IMG_0802.JPG

Getting Started

After pulling the insides out and collecting all of the screws in a plastic bag, I bought a heat gun and used it to pull all of the glued tolex off of the chassis. There was a lot of glue leftover, so I borrowed an electric sander from a friend and sanded it down until it was squeaky clean.

IMG_0346.jpg

The guts of the amp went to a local amp maker. We decided on a schematic: a Bassman style circuit with a voicing switch and a contour knob. Because I was giving him a chassis to work with, he only charged me $400.

IMG_0014.JPEG

The sanded amp went to a local artist and friend. She drew up sketches on the amp and sent me pictures. I gave her the go-ahead, and she started burning.

IMG_0360.jpg

After the burning, she bought three different colors of wood stain and painted inside the burn marks. This is the result of the completed amp.

IMG_0366.jpg

Final Thoughts

Total cost = $750. It's completely custom, sounds amazing, and is a one-of-a-kind piece of art. Keep it local, support the creative people in your community!

Sort:  

Congratulations @soundreasoning! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @soundreasoning! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54